Skip to Main Content
Menu
Contact Us Search
OHP Title

VTIP Participating Agencies

 

What should you do with your unwanted vessel?

If you have a recreational boat that you no longer want, the free, easy and safe Vessel Turn-In Program may be the solution. Contact a local public agency shown below for more information and to apply for the VTIP. It is also possible to take an unwanted vessel to a landfill site for disposal. Contact your local transfer station or landfill agency for further information regarding acceptance, costs, and hazardous waste restrictions. If you are required to remove hazardous materials before disposing the vessel, check the resources cited in this VTIP brochure for locations to properly dispose of these materials and/or fluids.

Never abandon or sink a vessel to dispose of it. Not only does it create public, navigational, environmental and safety hazards on our state’s waterways, but it is illegal with fines of $1,000 to $3,000, plus the costs of removal and disposal! This helpful and proactive program is administered by California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW), and grants are awarded annually to qualified local public agencies statewide. Commercial vessels are not covered under this program.

VTIP Participating Agencies by County

Alameda County

Contact Person: Lt. Jeffery Emmitt
Phone Number: (510) 337-8392
Emailjemmitt@alamedaca.gov
Websitehttps://alamedaca.gov/police
Address: 1555 Oak Street, Alameda, 94501

Contact Person: Steven Bogner
Phone Number: (510) 981-6744 
Emailsbogner@cityofberkeley.info
Websitewww.ci.berkeley.ca.us/Marina_Home/ 
Address: 201 University Avenue, Berkeley, 94710

Contact Person: Officer Kaleo Albino
Phone Number: (510) 407-2337 
Emailkalbino@oaklandca.com
Websitewww2.oaklandnet.com/Government/o/OPD/index.htm 
Address: 455 7th Street, Oakland, 94607

Contact Person: Delmarie Snodgrass
Phone Number: (510) 577-3490 
Emaildsnodgrass@sanleandro.org 
Websitewww.sanleandro.org/depts/pw/marina/ 
Address: 40 Mulford Point Drive, San Leandro, 94577

Butte County

Contact Person: Sgt. Jack Storne .
Phone Number: (530) 538-6667
Email: jstorne@buttecounty.net
Website: http://www.buttecounty.net/sheriffcoroner/Home.aspx
Address: 33 County Center Drive, Oroville, 95965

Contra Coast County

Contact Person: Deputy Jeff Hagston
Phone Number: (925) 427-8507 
Emailjhags@so.cccounty.us
Websitehttp://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/60/Sheriff
Address: 1980 Muir Road, Martinez, 94553

Lake County

Contact Person: Carolyn Ruttan .
Phone Number: (707) 263-2256
Email: carolyn.ruttan@lakecountyca.gov
Website: http://www.co.lake.ca.us/Government/Directory/Water_Resources/watershedplan.htm
Address: 255 North Forbes Street, Lakeport, 95453

Los Angeles County

Contact Person: Brian Bray, Harbormaster
Phone Number: (310) 510-0535
Email: brianbray@cityofavalon.com
Website: http://marinas.com/view/marina/1892_City_of_Avalon_Harbor_Dept_CA_United_States
Street Address: PO Box 1085
City: Avalon
Zip: 90704

Contact Person: Deputy Rich Godfrey .
Phone Number: (310) 482-6031
Email: MdRHarbor@LASD.Org
Website: http://www.lasd.org
Street Address: 13851 Fiji Way
City: Marina Del Rey
Zip: 90292


Marin County

Contact Person: Bill Price, Harbormaster
Phone Number: (415) 971-3919 
Emailbprice@marincounty.org 
Websitehttp://rbra.ca.gov/ 
Address: 3501 Civic Center Dr., Rm 308, San Rafael, 94903

Contact Person: William Fraass
Phone Number: (415) 289- 4171 
Emailbfraass@ci.sausalito.ca.us 
Websitewww.ci.sausalito.ca.us/index.aspx?page=154 
Address: 29 Caledonia Street, Sausalito, 94965

 

Mendocino County

Contact Person: Justin Pyorre, Harbormaster .
Phone Number: (707) 964-4719
Email: noyohd@yahoo.com
Address: 19101 S. Harbor Drive, Fort Bragg, 95437

Monterey County

Contact Person: John Haynes
Phone Number: (831) 242-8726
Email: jhaynes@monterey.org
Website: http://monterey.org/en-us/Departments/Harbor-Marina
Address: 250 Figueroa Street, Monterey, 93940

Napa County

Contact Person: Deputy Doug Wilkinson
Phone Number: (707) 253-4637 
Emaildoug.wilkinson@countyofnapa.org 
Websitewww.countyofnapa.org/Sheriff/ 
Address: 1535 Airport Blvd, Napa, 94558

Orange County

Contact Person: Sue McIntire
Phone Number: (949) 923-3735
Email: sue.mcintire@ocparks.com
Website: http://ocdph.com/
Address: 24650 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, 92629

Contact Person: Kurt Borsting, Harbormaster
Phone Number: (949) 270-8159
Email: harbormaster@newportbeachca.gov
Website: http://www.newportbeachca.gov/index.aspx?page=148
Address: 1600 W. Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663

Sacramento County

Contact Person: Deputy Darron Epperson
Phone Number: (916) 875-0493
Emaildepperson@sacsheriff.com
Websitewww.sacsheriff.com/ 
Address: 7000 65th Street, Suite B, Sacramento, 95823

Contact Person: Officer Jason Warren, or Officer Todd Cook
Phone Number: (916) 808-8520 
Emailjwarren@pd.cityofsacramento.org, tcook@pd.cityofsacramento.org
Websitehttp://portal.cityofsacramento.org/Police 
Address: 5770 Freeport Blvd. Ste. 100, Sacramento, 95822

Contact Person: Rick Toft, Port Business Mgr
Phone Number: (916) 617-4880 
Emailrickt@cityofwestsacramento.org 
Websitehttps://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/business/economic-development-housing/port-of-west-sacramento
Address: 1110 West Capitol Ave, Sacramento, 95691

San Diego County

Contact Person: Dominique Albrecht .
Phone Number: (619) 522-7305
Email: dalbrecht@coronado.ca.us
Website: https://www.coronado.ca.us/
Address: 1825 Strand Way, Coronado, 92118

Contact Person: Paul Lawrence, Harbormaster .
Phone Number: (760) 435-4005
Email: mbenson@ci.oceanside.ca.us
Website: http://www.ci.oceanside.ca.us/gov/pw/harbor/default.asp
Address: 1540 Harbor Drive North, Oceanside, 92054
Contact Person: Cynthia Mertes .
Phone Number: (619) 686-6426
Email: cmertes@portofsandiego.org
Website: https://www.portofsandiego.org/
Address: 3165 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, 92101

 

San Francisco County

Contact Person: Lisa Chau
Phone Number: (415) 831-6322 
Emaillisa.chau@sfgov.org 
Websitehttp://sfrecpark.org/destination/sf-marina-small-craft-harbor-marina-green/ 
Address: 3950 Scott Street, San Francisco, 94123

Contact Person: Dominic Moreno, Marine Operations Specialist
Phone Number: (415) 274-0597
EmailDominic.Moreno@sfport.com 
Websitehttp://sf-port.org/ 
Street Address: Pier 1, The Embarcadero, San Francisco, 94111

San Joaquin County

Contact Person: Sgt. Jose Aleman
Phone Number: (209) 953-3428 
Emailjaleman@sjgov.org 
Websitehttp://www.sjgov.org/sheriff/ 
Address: 7000 Michael N. Canlis Blvd Fr, French Camp, 95231

San Luis Obispo County

Contact Person: Eric Endersby, Harbormaster .
Phone Number: (805) 772- 6254
Email: eendersby@morro-bay.ca.us
Website: http://www.morro-bay.ca.us/144/Harbor
Address: 1275 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, 93442
Contact Person: Kristen Stout .
Phone Number: (805) 595-5400
Email: kristens@portsanluis.com
Website: www.portsanluis.com
Address: 3950 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, 93424

 

San Mateo County

Contact Person: Michael Hahn, Harbormaster
Phone Number: (650) 583-6975 
Emailmhahn@ci.brisbane.ca.us
Websitewww.ci.brisbane.ca.us/departments/marina/about
Address: 400 Sierra Point Parkway, Brisbane, 94005

Contact Person: Don Snaman, Ops. Manager
Phone Number: (650) 306-4150 
Emaildsnaman@redwoodcityport.com
Websitewww.redwoodcityport.com/
Address: 675 Seaport Blvd, Redwood City, 94063

Contact Person: Vicki Sherman
Phone Number: (650) 780-7472
Emailvsherman@redwoodcity.org
Websitewww.redwoodcity.org/
Address: PO Box 391, Redwood City, 94064

Contact Person: Kin Yip Chan
Phone Number: (650) 741-9158 
Emailkychan@smharbor.com
Websitewww.smharbor.com/
Address: 1 Johnson Pier, Half Moon Bay, 94019

Santa Barbara County

Contact Person: Dep. Mike Perkins .
Phone Number: (805) 755-4438
Email: bdm0552@sbsheriff.org
Website: http://www.sbsheriff.org/
Address: 4434 Calle Real, Santa Barbara, 93110
Contact Person: Steve McCullough .
Phone Number: (805) 564-5530
Email: smccullough@santabarbaraca.gov
Website: http://www.santabarbaraca.gov/gov/depts/waterfront/default.asp
Address: 132-A Harbor Way, Santa Barbara, 93109

Santa Cruz County

Contact Person: Latisha Marshall, Harbormaster .
Phone Number: (831) 475-6161
Email: lmarshall@santacruzharbor.org
Website: http://www.santacruzharbor.org/
Address: 135 Fifth Avenue, Santa Cruz, 95062

Solano County

Contact Person: Lt. Jonathan Mazer
Phone Number: (707) 784-7506
Emailjmmazer@solanocounty.com
Websitewww.solanocounty.com/depts/sheriff/
Address: 530 Union Avenue, Suite 100, Fairfield, 94553

Contact Person: Kris Lofthus
Phone Number: (707) 421-7200 
Emailklofthus@suisun.com
Websitewww.suisun.com/
Address: 800 Kellog Drive, Suisun City, 94585

Contact Person: Debbie Martir
Phone Number: (707) 648-4471 
Emaildebbie.martir@cityofvallejo.net
Websitewww.cityofvallejo.net/
Address: 42 Harbor Way, Vallejo, 94590

 

Sonoma County

Contact Person: Ken Konopa
Phone Number: (707) 565-2650 
Emailken.konopa@sonoma-county.org 
Websitewww.sonomasheriff.org/
Address: 2796 Ventura Avenue, Santa Rosa, 95403

Ventura County

Contact Person: Harbormaster John Higgins
Phone Number: Office: (805) 642-8618 
Email: vpdsave@gmail.com
Website: http://venturaharbor.com/
Address: 1603 Anchors Way Drive, Ventura, 93001

Yolo County

Contact Person: Sgt. Sam Machado
Phone Number: (530) 406-5151 
Emailsam.machado@yolocounty.org 
Websitewww.yolocountysheriff.com/
Address: 140 Tony Diaz Dr., Woodland, 95776