VTIP Participating Agencies

 

What should you do with your unwanted vessel?

If you have a recreational boat that you no longer want, the free, easy and safe Vessel Turn-In Program may be the solution. Contact a local public agency shown below for more information and to apply for the VTIP. It is also possible to take an unwanted vessel to a landfill site for disposal. Contact your local transfer station or landfill agency for further information regarding acceptance, costs, and hazardous waste restrictions. If you are required to remove hazardous materials before disposing the vessel, check the resources cited in this VTIP brochure for locations to properly dispose of these materials and/or fluids.

Never abandon or sink a vessel to dispose of it. Not only does it create public, navigational, environmental and safety hazards on our state’s waterways, but it is illegal with fines of $1,000 to $3,000, plus the costs of removal and disposal! This helpful and proactive program is administered by California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW), and grants are awarded annually to qualified local public agencies statewide. Commercial vessels are not covered under this program.

VTIP Participating Agencies by County

Alameda County

Contact Person: Officer Kaleo Albino
Phone Number: (510) 407-2337 
Emailkalbino@oaklandca.com
Websitewww2.oaklandnet.com/Government/o/OPD/index.htm 
Address: 455 7th Street, Oakland, 94607

Contact Person: Delmarie Snodgrass
Phone Number: (510) 577-3490 
Emaildsnodgrass@sanleandro.org 
Websitewww.sanleandro.org/depts/pw/marina/ 
Address: 40 Mulford Point Drive, San Leandro, 94577

Contra Coast County

Contact Person: Julie Borbely
Phone Number: (925) 427-8507 
Emailjborb@so.cccounty.us
Websitehttp://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/60/Sheriff
Address: 1980 Muir Road, Martinez, 94553

Humboldt County

Contact Person: Chris Nicholson
Phone Number: (707) 443-0801
Email: Cnicholson@humboldtbay.org
Website:
Address: 

Lake County

Contact Person: David Cowang
Phone Number: (707) 265-2256 
Email: david.cowen@lakecountyca.gov
Website:
Address

Marin County

Contact Person: Daniel White
Phone Number: (628) 888-9408 
Emaild_white@marinsheriff.org
Website
Address

Contact Person: Curtis Havel
Phone Number: (415) 971-3919 
Emailchavel@marincounty.org
Websitehttp://rbra.ca.gov/ 
Address: 3501 Civic Center Dr., Rm 308, San Rafael, 94903

Contact Person: William Fraass
Phone Number: (415) 289-4171 
Emailbfraass@ci.sausalito.ca.us 
Websitewww.ci.sausalito.ca.us/index.aspx?page=154 
Address: 29 Caledonia Street, Sausalito, 94965

Monterey County

Contact Person: John Haynes
Phone Number: (831) 646-3950
Email: haynes@monterey.org
Website: http://monterey.org/en-us/Departments/Harbor-Marina
Address: 250 Figueroa Street, Monterey, 93940

Orange County

Contact Person: Nancy Nguyen
Phone Number: (714) 935-6869
Email: nmnguyen@ ocsd.org
Website:
Address

Sacramento County

Contact Person: Deputy Darron Epperson
Phone Number: (916) 875-0493
Emaildepperson@sacsheriff.com
Websitewww.sacsheriff.com/ 
Address: 7000 65th Street, Suite B, Sacramento, 95823

Contact Person: Rick Toft, Port Business Mgr
Phone Number: (916) 617-4880 
Emailrickt@cityofwestsacramento.org 
Websitehttps://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/business/economic-development-housing/port-of-west-sacramento
Address: 1110 West Capitol Ave, Sacramento, 95691

Contact Person: Eric Guzman
Phone Number: (209) 640-6317 
Emailwalnutgrovefabrication@gmail.com
Website
Address

San Diego County

Contact Person: Dominique Albrecht 
Phone Number: (619) 522-7305
Email: dalbrecht@coronado.ca.us
Website: https://www.coronado.ca.us/
Address: 1825 Strand Way, Coronado, 92118

San Francisco County

Contact Person: Dominic Moreno, Marine Operations Specialist
Phone Number: (415) 274-0597
EmailDominic.Moreno@sfport.com 
Websitehttp://sf-port.org/ 
Street Address: Pier 1, The Embarcadero, San Francisco, 94111

San Joaquin County

Contact Person: Sgt. Jose Aleman
Phone Number: (209) 953-3428 
Emailjaleman@sjgov.org 
Websitehttp://www.sjgov.org/sheriff/ 
Address: 7000 Michael N. Canlis Blvd Fr, French Camp, 95231

San Mateo County

Contact Person: Mark Bettis
Phone Number: (650) 573-2594 
Emailmbettis@smcgov.org
Website
Address

Sonoma County

Contact Person: Jason Earl
Phone Number: (707) 778-4560
Emailjearl@ci.petaluma.ca.us
Website
Address

Contact Person: Jody Like
Phone Number: (707) 565-2175
Emailjody.like@sonoma-county.org
Websitewww.sonomasheriff.org/
Address: 2796 Ventura Avenue, Santa Rosa, 95403