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A Guide to Boating Law and Safety 

ABCs  of 
California Boating 

DEAR CALIFORNIA BOATER: 
You are among California’s four million recreational boaters who visit 
marinas, lakes, rivers and the ocean seeking an enjoyable outdoor 
recreational experience. In order to ensure that your experience is a 
safe and enjoyable one, it is important for you to know and follow the 
regulations and guidelines found in this booklet. 

The ABCs of California Boating is based upon the California Harbors 
and Navigation Code, Vehicle Code, Penal Code, and California Code of 
Regulations, but uses everyday terms rather than legal language in most 
instances. Not all provisions of law pertaining to boating are included. 
Consequently, the booklet is not suitable for use in law enforcement or 
in litigation. 

This booklet is one of many resources available through the California 
State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW). The division 
brings together a body of knowledge as the state’s expert in recreational 
boating-related matters, including public access, safety and education, 
marine law enforcement, and consumer and environmental protection. 

Recreational boaters provide the funding for DBW through state fuel taxes 
paid by boaters when gas is purchased, interest and principal repayment 
of DBW loans by boating facility owners, state registration fees paid by 
boaters for motorized recreational boats, and license fees paid by yacht 
and ship brokers and salespersons. 

i 

Visit www.BoatCalifornia.com  to learn more about DBW and about the
resources available to you.

 
 

Have a safe and pleasant boating season. 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
California Natural Resources Agency 
California State Parks  
DIVISION OF BOATING AND  WATERWAYS 

http://www.BoatCalifornia.com
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p r e p a r a t i o n

PREPARATION 
Mandatory Boater Education Requirements 
The California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) recommends 
that all recreational boaters take a state-approved boating safety course. These 
courses are listed on the DBW website under “Safety and Education” and 

“Aquatic Centers.” 

Beginning on January 1, 2018, recreational power boat operators who are 
aged 20 and younger shall be required to carry a boater education card. 
Once issued by DBW, the California Boater Card remains valid for a boat 
operator’s lifetime. DBW will issue the cards to persons who provide proof that 
an approved vessel operator examination has been passed since January 1, 2015. 
Approved courses may be found online at www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com. 

The California Boater Card requirement will be phased in over the next
 
several years based on operator age:
 

Year Operator Age 

January 1, 2018 Persons 20 years of age or younger 

January 1, 2019 Persons 25 years of age or younger 

January 1, 2020 Persons 35 years of age or younger 

January 1, 2021 Persons 40 years of age or younger 

January 1, 2022 Persons 45 years of age or younger 

January 1, 2023 Persons 50 years of age or younger 

January 1, 2024 Persons 60 years of age or younger 

January 1, 2025 All persons regardless of age 

1 
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p r e p a r a t i o n

Daytime
Signals 

Night
Signals 

Small Craft 
Winds up
to 38 mph 

Gale 
Winds 39 
to 54 mph 

Storm 
Winds 55 
to 73 mph 

Hurricane 
Winds 74 mph
and up 

STORM ADVISORIES 

NOTE: In some areas, the display of storm advisory flags has been discontinued. 
Boaters should check current weather conditions before starting their trip. 

Weather 
Before getting underway, check the latest local conditions such as weather, currents, 
rapids, flow levels, and hazards, including low-head dams. The latest coastal conditions 
and wave forecasts can be found on the DBW Web site. Detailed information can also 
be obtained by tuning to local radio stations or the National Weather Radio broadcasts 
on frequencies of 162.400, 162.425, 162.450, 162.475, 162.500, 162.525, and 162.550 MHz 
in areas where available or by consulting local news sources. 

At selected locations in and near boating areas, storm advisories are displayed by 
flag hoists or lights. Coast Guard stations and many marinas no longer display storm 
advisory flags. Remaining display points are located at some park ranger stations, 
marinas or municipal piers. Become familiar with area display stations and the 
meanings of the signals. 

Safety Communications 
According to the U.S. Coast Guard Navigation Center, a VHF marine radio is the single 
most important radio system a recreational boat owner/operator should have onboard. 
If you are cruising more than a few miles offshore, you should also have a MF/HF radio 
telephone or mobile satellite telephone, an Emergency Position Indicating Radio 

2 



  

  

 
 

  

 
  

  

 

 

 

 

 

   

  

 

 

 
  

  
 

 
 
 

 
 

p r e p a r a t i o n

Beacon (EPIRB). For added safety have a second VHF radio or cellular telephone to 
use during a marine emergency and receive high seas marine weather warnings. 

Marine radios may require an FCC license depending on international travel areas 
and use. For information about marine radios, visit http://www.navcen.uscg.gov/. 
EPIRBs must be registered with NOAA. For registration information, visit 
www.beaconregistration.noaa.gov. 

Cellular telephones on recreational vessels are not a substitute for the regular 
maritime radio distress and safety systems, however they do have a place on 
board for boating on waterways where there is cell phone coverage. 

Fueling 
Most fires happen after fueling. To prevent fires, follow these common 
sense rules: 

■ Don’t smoke or strike matches. 

■ Shut off motors. Turn off electrical equipment. 

■ Close all windows, doors and openings. 

■ Take portable tanks out of the boat and fill them on the dock. 

■ Keep the filling nozzle in contact with the fill pipe or tank. 

■ Wipe up any spilled gas with petroleum-absorbent pads. Discard the pads 
in a safe manner. 

■ Ventilate for at least five minutes. Make sure there is no odor of gasoline 
anywhere in the boat. 

■ Periodically check the system for fuel leaks. 

■ Visually check for leaks or fuel in the bilges. 

Boat Capacity 
Single-hull motorboats less than 20 feet in length that were manufactured after 
1972 must display capacity and safe horsepower information. The maximum 
weight in people, gear and motors is offered as a guide to boaters and should 
not be exceeded. 

While local, state, and federal laws may differ, please, keep in mind that other 
states may cite operators who exceed capacity and horsepower limitations. Some 
insurance companies will not insure craft exceeding horsepower maximums, and 
some boat manufacturers will void any applicable warranties for the same reasons. 
Boaters using vessels and personal watercraft without capacity plates should refer 
to the owner’s manual and state law. 

3 
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p r e p a r a t i o n

Photo courtesy of U.S. Coast Guard 

Loading 
As the operator, it’s your responsibility to see that supplies are carefully loaded 
and all passengers are properly seated. For safety onboard, remember to: 

■ ■Spread weight evenly. Keep passengers seated. 
■ ■Fasten gear to prevent shifting. Don’t overload your boat. 

File a Float Plan 
Before you go boating, it is a best practice to let a reliable family member or friend
 
know where you are going and when you will return. This is known as “filing a float
 
plan.” If you do not return on time, your friend or family member can contact the
 
Coast Guard or other rescue agency and will be able to tell them where you had
 
planned to be and information about your boat, so they can locate you.
 

If you have a change in plans, or will be delayed, notify the person holding your
 
float plan. Finally, close your plan by notifying the holder you have arrived home
 
safely, and if the holder has reported you overdue, notify all applicable rescue 

authorities of your safe return.
 

Do not file your plan with the Coast Guard. A sample plan is on the next page.  

It is also available to download at www.dbw.ca.gov/PDF/FloatPlanForm.pdf
 
The Coast Guard and other organizations also offer float plan apps for cell phones.
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P R E P A R A T I O N

CHECKLIST 
Before going on the water: 

1.  File a Float Plan (see below) 
2.  Give consideration to basic safety items, including the following: 

Vessel in good condition 
Vessel properly loaded 
Ample supply of fuel 
Check weather reports 
Compass and charts 
Good anchoring equipment 
Bailing Device 
Spare parts 
First-aid kit 
Tools 

Extra starting battery 
Life jackets/Throwable devices   
(Coast Guard-approved) 

Fire extinguishers   
(Coast Guard-approved) 

Visual distress signals 
Oars or paddles 
Marine VHF radio 
Flashlight 

Cell phone 

3.  Cancel your Float Plan when you return 

FLOAT PLAN 
Operator: 

If overdue, contact: 

Vessel:   

Persons:  Radio:  

Departure from: 

Destination: 

Name and address of operator  Phone number 

Searches for an overdue boat have a much greater chance of being successful if the Coast Guard  
 or other rescue agencies have certain facts. For your own safety and before going on the water,  
complete this form and leave it with a reliable family member or friend who will notify authorities   
if necessary. You can also text or email a float plan, but be sure to include all relevant information. 

Name and phone number of rescue agency near point of departure 

Name  CF Number  Length 

Power, Inboard - Outboard  Rig, If Sail  Hull Color 

Type/Style  Range   Speed  

Number Persons Aboard   Frequencies  

Place  Date/Time Depart 

Car Parked License #  Trailer Parked License #  Where Parked 

Place  Stops en Route  Date/Time Return 

DISCLAIMER:  The Float Plan and checklist is not a definitive list of everything that may be required for safe boating 
on any particular boat or boating excursion. Knowing what is required is the responsibility of each individual boater. 

Important: Don’t forget to cancel your Float Plan when you return. 
Checkkist and Float Plan also available at:  www.dbw.ca.gov/PDF/FloatPlanForm.pdf 

CHECKLIST AND FLOAT PLAN 
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W a t e r w a y  M a r k i n g s

WATERWAY MARKINGS 
Federal Lateral System 
U.S. waterways are marked for safe navigation by the lateral system of buoyage. 
The system uses a simple arrangement of colors, shapes, numbers and light charac­
teristics to show the side on which a buoy should be passed when proceeding in 
a given direction. The characteristics are determined by the buoy’s position with 
respect to the navigable channels as the channels are entered from seaward. 

The expression “red right returning” has long been used by seafarers as a reminder 
that the red buoys are kept to the starboard (right) side when proceeding from the 
open sea into port (upstream). Likewise, green buoys are kept to the port (left) side 
(see chart below). 

Conversely, when proceeding toward the sea or leaving port, red buoys are kept 
to port side and green buoys to the starboard side. Red buoys are always even 
numbered, and green buoys are odd numbered. Red and white vertically striped 
buoys mark the center of the channel. 
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W a t e r w a y  M a r k i n g s

Uniform State Waterway Marking System 
Most waterways used by California boaters are located entirely within the boundaries 
of the state. The California Uniform State Waterway Marking System has been devised 
for these waters. For examples of such markers, see chart below. 

The waterway marking system employs buoys and signs with distinctive standard shapes 
to show regulatory or advisory information. These markers are white with black letters 
and orange borders. They signify speed zones, restricted areas, danger areas and general 
information. 

Aids to navigation on state waters use red and green buoys to mark channel limits, gener­
ally in pairs. Your boat should pass between the red buoy and its companion green buoy. 

CENTER 

LEFT SIDE 

RIGHT SIDE 

When proceeding to
marina or upstream 

CF 5576 JS 

CF
2 

CF
1 

CF 
A 

A 

CALIFORNIA WATERWAY MARKER SYSTEM 
INFORMATION AND R EGUL ATORY MARK S 

BOATS KEEP OUT 
Explanations may be placed 
outside  the  crossed  diamond  
shape. Examples: dam, 
rapids, swim area 

DANGER 
The nature of danger may be 
indicated by words inside the 
diamond shape. Examples: 
shoal, reef, wreck, dam  

CONTROLLED AREA 
Type of control is 
indicated within the 
circle. Examples: 5 MPH, 
No Anchoring 

INFORMATION 
Official information is 
displayed. Examples: 
directions, distances,
locations 

CONTROLLED 
SPEED ZONE 

5 
MPH 

NEXT 2 MILES 

5 
MPH 

MARKER ON PILING MARKER ON SPECIAL 
PURPOSE BUOY 

DUAL PURPOSE 
MARKER ON LAND 

MOORING BUOY 
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W a t e r w a y  M a r k i n g s

FIXED
FLASHING (2)

FLASHING
OCCULTING

QUICK FLASH
ISO

       "1"  "3"  "5"  "7"

LIGHTED BUOY:
Odd number, increasing 
toward head of navigation, 
leave to port (left) 
when proceeding upstream.

FIXED
FLASHING (2)

FLASHING
OCCULTING

QUICK FLASH
ISO

PORT SIDE:
Odd number aids, green light only

       "2"  "4"  "6"  "8"

LIGHTED BUOY:
Even number, increasing 
toward head of navigation, 
leave to starboard (right) 
when proceeding upstream.

STARBOARD SIDE:
Even number aids, red light only

1 2

L L

UNLIGHTED
CAN "L"

UNLIGHTED
NUN "L"

DAYMARK DAYMARK

LIGHTED 
BUOY "L"

LIGHTED 
BUOY "L"

COMPOSITE GROUP FLASHING  (2 + 1)

PREFERRED CHANNEL BUOY: No numbers, may be lettered

STARBOARD PORT

Topmost band denotes preferred channel. Letter has no lateral significance. 
Used for identification and location purposes.

L LL L 

MAIN CHANNEL BUOYS 
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W a t e r w a y  M a r k i n g s

Mooring to Buoys 
Tying up to or hanging on to any navigation buoy (except a mooring buoy) or beacon 
is prohibited. For examples of these types of buoys, see chart on page 8 and 9. 

Aids to Navigation 
Navigation aids assist vessel operators in verifying their position and cautioning them of 
dangers and impediments. Listed below are the common identifiers as seen on pages 6–9: 

■ Port-hand buoys are painted green, with green fixed or flashing lights. 
■ Starboard-hand buoys are painted red, with red fixed or flashing lights. 
■ Safe water buoys, also called midchannel or fairway buoys, and approach buoys 

are painted with red and white vertical stripes, with flashing lights. 
■ Preferred channel, or junction buoys, are painted with red and green horizontal 

bands, with flashing lights. 
■ Special marks (traffic separation, anchorage areas, dredging, fishnet areas, etc.) 

are painted yellow. If lighted, the light may be fixed or flashing. 

SAFE WATER BUOY MARKS MIDCHANNEL:  
No numbers—may be lettered, white light only

SPHERICAL

LIGHTED AND/OR SOUND:
Marks midchannel, pass on either 
side. Not numbered, may be 
lettered. Letter has no lateral 
significance. Used for identification 
and location purposes.

MR

 "A"

MORSE CODE (A)

UNLIGHTED
A

L
A
A

DAYMARK

PORT STARBOARD

UNLIGHTED
CAN BUOY:
Odd number,
leave to port.

C "1"

DAYMARK

N "2"1 1 2
UNLIGHTED
NUN BUOY:
Even number, leave
to starboard.

 

2
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R u l e s  o f  t h e  W a t e rw  a y s

RULES OF THE WATERWAYS 
Navigation Rules 
The inland navigation rules, commonly called “Rules of the Road,” govern the 
operation of boats and specify light and sound signals on inland waters in order to 
prevent collisions. Existing law requires that a complete copy of the inland navigation 
rules must be kept for reference on board all boats of 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) 
or more in length operating on inland waters. A copy of the Navigation Rules 
International—Inland booklet, published by the Coast Guard, may be ordered for a 
nominal fee from: USCG Navigation Center Navcen. Please call 703-313-5900 or go 
to www.navcen.uscg.gov for availability and price. 

Boater Responsibility 
Nothing in the rules of the road shall exonerate the operator of a vessel from the 
consequences of neglecting to comply with the inland rules of the road, or from 
neglecting any precaution which may be required by the ordinary practice of 
seamen, or by the special circumstances of the case. 

In interpreting and complying with the inland rules of the road, due regard shall 
be given to all dangers of navigation and collision and to any special circumstances, 
including the limitations of the vessels involved, which may make a departure from 
the rules of the road necessary to avoid immediate danger. 

Navigation Signals 
The law prescribes signals for vessels in sight of each other to indicate the intended 
course of a vessel when necessary for safe navigation. Motorboats should not use 
cross signals (i.e., answer one blast with two blasts or two blasts with one blast). 
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R u l e s  o f  t h e  W a t e rw  a y s

NAVIGATION SIGNALS 

1 blast 

Sounding one short blast (1 second) of the horn or whistle shows 
intention to direct course of vessel to own starboard (right). 

2 blasts 

Sounding two short blasts shows intention to direct course of 
vessel to own port (left). 

3 blasts 

Sounding three short blasts indicates that the vessel’s engines are  
going astern (in reverse). 

5 blasts 

Sounding five or more short and rapid blasts is a danger signal used 
when the other vessel’s intentions are not understood or its indicated 
course is dangerous. 

Prolonged blast 

Sounding a prolonged blast (4 to 6 seconds) indicates restricted  
visibility (see Fog Signals, page 14). 

Meeting or Crossing Situations 
When motorboats are in sight of one another and meeting or crossing at a distance 
within half a mile of each other, each vessel shall indicate its intended maneuver 
with one of the following signals: 

■ One short blast = I intend to leave you on my port side. 
■ Two short blasts = I intend to leave you on my starboard side. 
■ Three short blasts = I am operating astern propulsion. 

Upon hearing the one- or two-blast signal, the other vessel shall, if in agreement, 
sound the same signal and take steps to affect a safe passing. If the proposed 
maneuver is unsafe, the danger signal (five or more short and rapid blasts) should 
be sounded, and each vessel shall take appropriate action until a safe passing 
agreement is made. 
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R u l e s  o f  t h e  W a t e rw  a y s

1 Short Blast 

1 Short Blast 

HEAD-ON SITUATION When meeting head-on, or nearly 
so, either vessel shall signal its 
intention with one short blast 
which the other vessel shall answer 
promptly. Both vessels should alter 
their course to starboard (right) so 
that each will pass to the port (left) 
side of each other. 

When crossing, the vessel that has the other on the starboard (right) side shall 
keep out of the way and avoid crossing ahead of the other vessel. The give-way 
vessel (the vessel required to keep out of the way) shall take early and substantial 
action to keep well clear of the other vessel (the stand-on vessel), which should 
hold course and speed. However, the stand-on vessel may take action to avoid 
collision by maneuvering as soon as it becomes apparent that the give-way vessel 
is not taking appropriate action. 

1 Short Blast 

Give-way 
Vessel . . . 
keeps out 
of way 

1 Short Blast 

Stand-on 
Vessel . . . 
holds course 

CROSSING SITUATION 

1 Short Blast 

1 Short Blast 
Overtaking Vessel 

OVERTAKING TO  STARBOARD Overtaking Situations 
When two motorboats are running 
in the same direction and the 
vessel astern desires to pass, it shall 
give one short blast to indicate 
a desire to pass on the overtaken 
vessel’s starboard. The vessel 
ahead shall answer with one blast 
if the course is safe. 
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R u l e s  o f  t h e  W a t e rw  a y s

2 Short Blasts 

2 Short Blasts 
Overtaking Vessel 

OVERTAKING  TO PORT SIDE If the vessel astern desires to pass 
to port of the overtaken vessel, it 
shall give two short blasts. The 
vessel ahead shall answer with two 
short blasts if the course is safe. If 
passing is unsafe, the vessel being 
overtaken should answer with the 
danger signal (five or more short 
and rapid blasts). 

A vessel approaching another vessel from the stern and overtaking it shall keep 
out of the way of the overtaken vessel. The vessel being overtaken shall hold its 
course and speed. 

Other Situations 
■ If your boat nears a bend in a channel where vessels approaching from the 

other direction cannot be seen, you should signal with a prolonged blast (four 
to six seconds). Approaching boats within hearing should answer with the 
same signal. If your signal is answered by a boat on the farther side of the bend, 
then usual signals for meeting and passing should be given upon sighting. If 
your signal goes unanswered, the channel may be considered clear. 

■ Keep your boat to the starboard side of narrow channels whenever safe and 
practicable. 

■ Sound one prolonged blast when leaving a dock or berth. 
■ Keep out of the way of sailing vessels where courses involve the risk of collision. 
■ In narrow channels, do not hamper the safe passage of vessels such as deep-

draft liners and freighters, which can navigate only inside such channels. 

•	 Paddlers should stay near the shore and cross channels with care, carry an 
efficient sound signaling device such as a loud whistle, use a white navigation 
light when paddling at night or in low visibility and never paddle alone. 

Rules for Sailing Vessels 
When two sailing vessels are approaching one another, one of them shall keep 
out of the way of the other so as to avoid the risk of collision, as follows: 

■ When each has the wind on a different side, the vessel with the wind on the 
port side shall keep out of the way of the other. 

■ When both have the wind on the same side, the vessel that is to windward 
shall keep out of the way of the vessel that is to leeward. 
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R u l e s  o f  t h e  W a t e rw  a y s

■ If a vessel with the wind on the port side sees a vessel to windward and cannot 
determine with certainty whether the other vessel has the wind on the port or 
the starboard side, she shall keep out of the way of the other. 

The windward side shall be deemed to be the side opposite to that on which the 
mainsail is carried or, in the case of a square-rigged vessel, the side opposite to that 
on which the largest fore-and-aft sail is carried. 

Note: International sailing rules are the same as those above. 

Fog Signals 
The law also prescribes signals to identify 
vessels navigating in or near areas of 
restricted visibility. Upon hearing a fog 
signal apparently forward of the beam, 
you should reduce speed to the minimum 
at which the boat can be kept on course, 
unless it has been determined by radar 
or other means that the risk of collision 
does not exist. If necessary, use reverse 
propulsion. In any event, navigate with 
extreme caution until any danger is over. 

For motorboats: When making your way 
through the water, you should sound one 
prolonged blast at intervals of not more 
than two minutes. If you are in the water, 

but stopped and making no way through the water, sound—at intervals of not more 
than two minutes—two prolonged blasts in succession, with an interval of about two 
seconds between them. 

For sailboats or vessels not under command, restricted in ability to maneuver, 
towing or pushing another vessel, or engaged in fishing with nets, or trawling: 
You should sound—at intervals of not more than two minutes—one prolonged 
followed by two short blasts. 

For boats at anchor: You should ring—at intervals of not more than one minute 
—a bell rapidly for about five seconds. In addition, one short blast followed by one 
prolonged and one short blast may be sounded to an approaching vessel to give 
warning of your position and of the possibility of collision. 

Note: Boats less than 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) in length have the option to make 
an efficient sound signal instead, at intervals of not more than two minutes. Boats  
less than 65 feet 7 inches (20 meters) are not required to sound signals when anchored 
in a federally designated anchorage area. 
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O p e r a t i o n a l  L a w

OPERATIONAL LAW 
Peace Officers 
Every peace officer of the state, city, county, harbor district or other political 
subdivision of the state is empowered to enforce California boating law. These 
officers have the authority to stop and board any vessel where they have probable 
cause to believe that a violation of law exists. 

Peace officers are also authorized to order the operator of an unsafe vessel to shore. 
Your vessel can be ordered to the nearest safe moorage if an unsafe condition 
is found that cannot be corrected on the spot and if the officer determines that 
continued operation would be dangerous. 

Any vessel approaching, overtaking, being approached, or being overtaken by 
a moving law enforcement vessel operating with a siren or an illuminated blue 
light, or any vessel approaching a stationary law enforcement vessel displaying an 
illuminated blue light, shall: 

■ Immediately slow to a speed sufficient to maintain steerage only. 
■ Alter its course, within its ability, so as not to inhibit or interfere with operation 

of the law enforcement vessel. 
■ Proceed, unless otherwise directed by the law enforcement vessel operator, at 

the reduced speed until beyond the law enforcement vessel’s area of operation. 

Trailering 
The law prohibits you from towing a trailered vessel containing a passenger, except 
when you are launching or retrieving a vessel. For more information, please visit: 
http://www.dbw.ca.gov/Pubs/Trailer/TrailerSailors.pdf. 

Stolen Vessels 
If a numbered vessel is stolen, the legal owner should notify local law enforcement 
as soon as possible. The owner shall also notify the local law enforcement agency 
if the vessel reported stolen is recovered. For more information, please visit: http:// 
www.dbw.ca.gov/Pubs/Marine_Secur/MarineSecurity.pdf. 

County and City Laws 
In addition to state law, many counties, cities and districts have special laws or 
ordinances that restrict activities in certain areas, prohibit certain acts at certain 
times or establish additional requirements. These ordinances may regulate speed, 
set aside specific areas or hours for special purposes, and prohibit acts that are 
contrary to public interest. Boaters must comply with these local rules as well as 
with state law. Check with your local waterway operator for special laws or 
ordinances in your area. 
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O p e r a t i o n a l  L a w

Age Restrictions 
No person under 16 years of age may operate a boat with a motor of more than 15 
horsepower, except for a sailboat that does not exceed 30 feet in length or a dinghy 
used directly between a moored boat and the shore (or between two moored  
boats). The law allows children 12–15 years of age to operate boats with a motor 
of more than 15 horsepower or sailboats over 30 feet if supervised on board by an 
adult at least 18 years of age who is in possession of a California Boater Card as 
required by law. Violating these provisions constitutes an infraction. 

Speed 
Speed is limited by law for certain conditions and areas. The maximum speed for 
motorboats within 100 feet of a bather (but not a water skier) and within 200 feet 
of a bathing beach, swimming float, diving platform or lifeline, passenger landing 
being used, or landing where boats are tied up is 5 miles per hour. 

A safe speed should be maintained at all times so that: (1) action can be taken to 
avoid collision; and (2) your boat can stop within a distance appropriate to the 
prevailing circumstances and conditions. In restricted visibility, motorboats should 
have the engines ready for immediate maneuvering. You should be prepared to 
stop the vessel within the space of half the distance of forward visibility. 

Carbon Monoxide 
It is a violation of California law to operate a vessel’s motor or generator while 
someone is: (1) teak surfing, platform dragging or bodysurfing behind the vessel; or 
(2) while someone is occupying or holding onto a swim platform, swim deck, swim 
step, or swim ladder, except for a very brief period of time when a person is assisting 
with the docking or departure of the vessel or exiting or entering the vessel, or while 
the vessel is engaged in law enforcement or emergency rescue activity. 

CARBON MONOXIDE DANGER 
Teak surfing or platform dragging means 
holding onto the swim platform, swim 
deck, swim step, swim ladder, or any 
portion of the transom exterior of 
a motorized vessel for any amount of 
time while the vessel is underway at 
any speed. The law requires that a set 
of carbon monoxide warning stickers 
be placed on the transom and helm of 
all new and used motorized boats sold 
in California. For a pamphlet on the 
dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning 
and a set of warning decals, please visit: 
http://www.dbw.ca.gov/BoaterInfo/ 
CODanger.aspx. 
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O p e r a t i o n a l  L a w

Reckless or Negligent 
Operation of a Vessel 
No person shall operate any 
vessel or manipulate any water 
skis, aquaplane or similar 
device in a reckless or negligent 
manner so as to endanger 
the life, limb or property of 
any person. Examples of such 
operation include, but are not 
limited to: 

■ Riding on the bow, gunwale or transom of a vessel under way, propelled 
by machinery, when such position is not protected by railing or other 
reasonable deterrent to falling overboard or riding in a position or manner 
that is obviously dangerous. These provisions shall not apply to a vessel’s 
crew in the act of anchoring, mooring or making fast to a dock or another 
vessel, or in the necessary management of a sail. 

■ Maneuvering towed skiers or devices so as to pass the towline over
 
another vessel or its skier.
 

■ Navigating a vessel, skis or other devices between a towing vessel and its 
tow or tows. 

■ Operating under the influence of intoxicants or narcotics. 

Other actions such as speeding in confined or restricted areas, “buzzing” or 
“wetting down” others, or skiing at prohibited times or in restricted areas can 
also be considered reckless or negligent operations. 

Hit-and-Run Accidents 
Any person involved in a boating accident that results in injury, death or 
disappearance who is convicted of leaving the scene without either: (1) 
furnishing appropriate information to others involved or to any peace officer 
at the scene; and/or (2) rendering any reasonable assistance to any injured 
person, is liable for a fine of up to $10,000 or imprisonment for up to four years, 
or both. A person responsible for an accident that results in serious injury or 
death can be subject to a conviction of manslaughter and sentenced to an 
additional five years in state prison for fleeing the scene. 

17 



 

  

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
  

  
  

 
  
 

 

O p e r a t i o n a l  L a w

Operation of a Vessel While Intoxicated 
Alcohol is a factor in about 50 percent of all fatal motorboat accidents in California. 
State law specifies that: 

1. No person shall operate any vessel, water skis or similar device while under the 
influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. No person who is addicted to any drug shall 
operate any vessel, water skis or similar device. 

2. No person 21 years of age or older shall operate 
any vessel, water skis or similar device who has 0.08 
percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her 
blood. A level of at least 0.05 percent, but less than 

»  CALIFORNIA BOATER 
EDUCATION CARD  
REQUIREMENTS   
begin January 1, 2018.  

The law requires boating	  

safety education for  

California recreational	  

power boat operators   

(see page 1).	 

0.08 percent, may be used with other evidence in 
determining whether the person was under the 
influence of alcohol. A person under 21 years of age 
or older who has been arrested for operating a 
mechanically propelled vessel “under the influence” 
may be requested to submit to a chemical test to 
determine blood-alcohol content. A person convicted 
of operating a vessel while intoxicated could receive 
up to a $1,000 fine and six months in jail. 

3. No person under 21 years of age may operate 
a vessel, water skis or similar device who has 0.01 
percent or more of alcohol in his or her blood by 
weight. Penalties may include a fine of up to $250 
and participation in an alcohol education or com­
munity service program. 

Designated Driver Theory 
Designating a driver is not enough on vessels. The concept works well in cars, but 
drunken passengers on boats can easily fall overboard, swim near the propeller or 
cause loading problems by leaning over the side or standing up in small vessels, 
causing vessels to capsize. Everyone who drinks alcohol on board is at risk. If you 
do drink, wear a life jacket. 

Court-Ordered Boating Education 
Any person convicted of a moving violation of the Harbors and Navigation Code or 
Federal Rules of the Road, or while operating a vessel in violation of the Anthony 
Farr and Stacey Beckett Boating Safety Act of 2004 (Carbon Monoxide law), shall be 
ordered by the court to complete and pass a boating safety course approved by DBW. 

Proof of completion and passage of the course must be submitted to the court within 
seven months of the time of the conviction. 
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O p e r a t i o n a l  L a w

Personal Watercraft Operation 
A personal watercraft (PWC), popularly known 
as a jet ski, is a vessel 13 feet in length or less, 
propelled by machinery, that is designed to be 
operated by a person sitting, standing or kneeling 
on the vessel rather than in the conventional 
manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel. 
PWCs are subject to the same laws governing the 
operation of motorboats of the same size. Boaters 
on board a PWC without capacity plates should 
reference the owner’s manual and state law. 

Registration: For proper display of registration numbers and stickers, see the 
“Registration” section of this booklet. 

Life Jackets: Every person on board a PWC and anyone being towed behind a vessel 
must wear a Coast Guard-approved Type I, II, III or V life jacket. 

Lanyard/Self-Circling Device: The law requires anyone operating a PWC equipped 
with a lanyard cutoff switch to attach the lanyard to his or her person. Operating a 
PWC equipped with a self-circling device is prohibited if the device has been altered. 

Nighttime Operation Prohibited: The law prohibits the operation of a PWC at any 
time from sunset to sunrise, even if the PWC is equipped with proper navigational lights. 

Operator Age: It is an infraction for anyone under 16 years of age to operate a
 
motorboat of more than 15 horsepower, including a PWC. Any person who permits
 
someone under age 16 to do so is also guilty of an infraction. Children 12–15 years of
 
age may operate a motorboat of more than 15 horsepower if supervised by an adult
 
on board who is at least 18 years of age.
 

Reasonable and Prudent Operation: Under California law, no person shall operate 
any craft in a reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the life, limb or property 
of any individual. Some examples are: 

■ Navigating a vessel, skis or other devices between a towing vessel and its tow 
or tows. 

■ Operating under the influence of intoxicants or narcotics. 
■ Jumping or attempting to jump the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of the 

other vessel, which constitutes unsafe operation. 

Note: Other actions that constitute unsafe operation include: (1) operating a PWC 
toward any person or vessel in the water and turning sharply so as to spray the person 
or vessel; and (2) operating at a rate of speed and in proximity to another vessel so 
that either operator is required to swerve at the last minute to avoid collision. A free 
PWC Course can be taken online at: www.dbw.ca.gov/BoaterInfo/PWCOnline 

19
 

www.dbw.ca.gov/BoaterInfo/PWCOnline


 
 
 

 

 
 

  
  

  

 
  

 
 

  
  

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

O p e r a t i o n a l  L a w

WATER SKIING HAND SIGNALS 

Water Skiing 
When using a boat to tow someone on water skis or an aquaplane, there must 
be one other person in the boat—in addition to the operator—who can observe 
the person being towed. The observer must be at least 12 years of age. Other tow 
sports, such as wake boarding, knee boarding, and tubing, must follow the same 
rules and guidelines as skiers. 

Life Jackets: Effective Jan 1, 2001, California law provides that any person being 
towed behind a vessel must have on a wearable Coast Guard-approved life jacket. 
Exceptions: The law does not apply to performers engaged in professional 
exhibitions, official regattas, marine parades or tournaments. Any person engaged 
in slalom skiing on a marked course or in barefoot, jump or trick water skiing, 
may instead wear a wetsuit designed for the activity and labeled by the manufac­
turer as a water ski wetsuit. However, for each skier who elects to wear a wetsuit, a 
wearable Coast Guard-approved life jacket still must be carried on board. 

Note: Inflatable personal 
flotation devices are 
not approved for use 
while water skiing. 

Towing: Water skis and 
aquaplanes must not be 
operated in a manner 
to endanger the safety 
of people or property. 
Passing the towline over 
another vessel or skier and 
towing a skier or navigating 
between a vessel and its 
tow are prohibited. Towing 
a skier does not give the 
vessel operator any special 
privileges. You must observe 
the rules of the road. 

Speed Up 

Slow
Down

 
 

Speed  
OK 

Back to 
Dock 

Right Turn 

Stop  Left Turn 

Skier OK Skier in Water 

The towing of water skiers from sunset to sunrise is prohibited by state law. Local laws 
may also restrict skiing at specific times during the day and in certain areas. For more 
information, please visit: www.dbw.ca.gov/Pubs/Watski/TowingSports.pdf. 
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Water Ski Flag: The operator of a vessel involved in 
towing a skier must display, or cause to be displayed, 
a red or orange water ski flag to indicate: 

■ A downed skier 
■ A skier in the water preparing to ski 
■ A ski line extended for the vessel 
■ A ski in the water in the vicinity of the vessel 

The flag must be no less than 12 inches on each side 
and be in the shape of a square or rectangle. The 
display of the ski flag does not in itself restrict the 
use of the water, but when operating in the area, 
boaters should exercise caution. 

Diving 
Alpha Flag: Whenever the size of a vessel engaged 
in diving operations during daytime hours makes it 
impracticable to exhibit the daytime shapes required 
of a vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, a rigid 
replica of the international blue-and-white code flag 
(Alpha) is required to be displayed. The flag must 
measure not less than 1 meter (3 ft. 3 in.) in height 
and must be visible all round the horizon. 

For boats tending free-swimming divers where the 
diving does not interfere with the maneuverability 
of the boat, the alpha flag is not required and they 
may display the “divers down” flag. 

Divers Down Flag: State law recognizes that a red 
flag with a white diagonal stripe—commonly called 
the divers down flag—indicates a person engaged 
in diving in the immediate area. Displaying the divers 
down flag is not required by law and does not in 
itself restrict the use of the water. When operating in 
an area where this flag is displayed, boaters should 
exercise caution. 

O p e r a t i o n a l  L a w

WATER  SKIING FLAG 

Required for use by  
vessels engaged in diving  
operations and restricted   
in their ability to maneuver. 

Recognized for use by  
people engaged in diving. 
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E m e r g e n c y  P r o c e d u r e s

EMERGENCY AND ACCIDENT 
PROCEDURES 
Radio and EPIRB Procedures/Marine Emergency Distress 
A. If you are in distress (i.e., threatened by grave and imminent danger) or observe
 
another vessel in distress, transmit the International Distress Call on Channel 16:
 

“MAYDAY MAYDAY MAYDAY — THIS IS .” 
State the call sign of the vessel in distress—or the name of your boat if no call sign
 
has been assigned—and repeat it three times. SPEAK SLOWLY AND CLEARLY.
 

If you are aboard the vessel in trouble, state: 

1. WHO you are (your vessel’s call letters and name). 
2. WHERE you are (give your vessel’s position in latitude/longitude or true bearing 

and distance in nautical miles from a widely known geographical point). 
Remember that local names known only in the immediate vicinity are confusing. 

3. WHAT the problem is aboard your boat. 
4. Type of assistance needed. 
5. Number of people aboard and condition of any injured. 
6. Present seaworthiness of your vessel. 
7. Description of your vessel (length, type, cabin, masts, power, color of hull,
 

superstructure and trim).
 
8. Your listening frequency and schedule. 

If you observe another vessel in distress, give: 

1. Your position and, if possible, the bearing and distance of the vessel
 
in difficulty.
 

2. Nature of distress. 
3. Description of vessel in distress (see item 7 above). 
4. Your intentions, course, speed, etc. 
5. Your radio call sign, name of your vessel, listening frequency and schedule. 

If no one responds to your distress call, the Coast Guard recommends that you 
turn on your EPIRB and repeat the call at intervals until an answer is received. 

NOTE: The international sign for an aircraft that wants to direct a surface craft 
to a vessel in distress is: Circling the surface craft, opening and closing the throttle or 
changing propeller pitch (noticeable by change in sound) while crossing ahead of the 
surface craft, and proceeding in the direction of the vessel in distress. If you receive such 
a signal, you should follow the aircraft. If you cannot do so, try to inform the aircraft by 
any available means. 

If your assistance is no longer needed, the aircraft will cross your wake, opening 
and closing the throttle or changing the propeller pitch. If you are radio-equipped, 
you should attempt to communicate with the aircraft on Channel 16 when the 
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E m e r g e n c y  P r o c e d u r e s

aircraft makes the above signals or makes any obvious attempt to attract 
your attention. In the event you cannot communicate by radio, be alert for 
a message block dropped from the aircraft. 

B. If you need information or assistance from the Coast Guard (other than in 
a distress), call COAST GUARD on Channel 16 (The Distress and Calling Frequency). 
In this situation, you will normally be shifted to a common working frequency 
(21, 22 or 23) allowing the DISTRESS frequency to remain open. 

Radio Checks: Do not use Channel 16 to call the Coast Guard merely for a radio 
check. Such use is prohibited by the Federal Communications Commission. 

C. After the emergency is over, notify the Coast Guard promptly. 

Accident Reporting 
Boat operators involved in an accident must: (1) provide their name, address and 
vessel registration number to other involved parties; (2) render assistance to any 
injured people; and (3) in case of a death or disappearance, report the accident 
without delay to law enforcement officials. 

Boat operators or owners must also make a written report of a boating accident 
to DBW within 48 hours when: 

■ A person dies within 24 hours of the accident, disappears, or is injured and 
requires medical treatment beyond first aid. 

■ Total damage to all vessels involved and other property is more than $500 or 
there is complete loss of a vessel. 

In all other incidents requiring a written accident report, the report must be made 
within 10 days of the accident. Failure to comply with the above requirements is 
punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment up to six months, or both. 

This booklet contains an accident report form that may be used for such incidents. 
Forms are also available through some sheriffs’ and harbormasters’ offices and 
police departments. They may also be obtained by contacting DBW or by visiting 
www.dbw.ca.gov and clicking on “Publications.” 

False Search and Rescue Calls 
Any individual who reports to a state or local agency that an emergency exists, 
knowing that the report is false, is guilty of a misdemeanor and can be found 
liable for the expense of the emergency response. An emergency includes any 
condition that results in, or could result in, the response of a public official in an 
authorized emergency vehicle, vessel or aircraft. 

It is a felony for any individual to report or cause any report to be made to any state 
or local government agency that an emergency exists if he or she knows or should 
know that the response to the report is likely to cause death or great bodily injury 
and such injury or death is sustained by any person as a result of the false report. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT 
General Information 
Recreational vessels are required to carry specified safety equipment, which may 
vary according to type of propulsion, type of construction, area and time of use, and 
number of people aboard. Unless otherwise noted, all required equipment must be: 

■ ■Coast Guard-approved Of the proper type and/or size 
■ ■Kept in good, serviceable condition Appropriate for the intended activity 
■ Readily accessible 

Recreational vessels may carry extra equipment that is not Coast Guard-approved, 
provided that minimum requirements for approved equipment are satisfied. For 
equipment purposes, sailboats, canoes, rowboats and inflatable rafts equipped 
with motors are considered to be “motorboats.” Requirements vary considerably 
for commercial vessels and vessels engaged in racing. 

Note: For a list of recommended additional equipment, see the chart on page 45. 

»  A life jacket can  
save your life, but  
only if you wear it! 

Sailboats and Manually 
Propelled Vessels 
Life jackets: Sailboats less than 16 feet in length 
and all canoes and kayaks, regardless of length, 
must carry one wearable Coast Guard-approved 
life jacket of a type and size appropriate for 
the conditions and the boating activity being 
engaged in for each person on board. Life jackets 
must be readily accessible and fit the intended 
wearer properly. 

Sailboats 16 feet and over must have one wear­
able Coast Guard-approved life jacket of a type 
and size appropriate for the conditions and the 
boating activity being engaged in for each person 
aboard, plus at least one Type IV throwable 
flotation device. The throwable device must be 
kept where it is immediately available. Life jackets 
must be readily accessible and fit the intended 
wearer properly. 

Navigation Lights: All vessels are required to 
display navigation lights between sunset and 
sunrise and during times of restricted visibility. 
In inland and international waters, sailing vessels 
under sail alone shall exhibit navigation lights 
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shown on page 40. The tricolored lantern and the all-round green and red lights 
should never be used together. 

A sailing vessel of less than 23 feet (7 meters) in length shall, if practicable, exhibit 
those lights prescribed or have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern 
showing a white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision. 
A vessel under oars may display those lights prescribed for sailing vessels or have 
ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light, which shall 
be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision. 

Sound Signaling Devices: A vessel of less than 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) is not 
required to carry a whistle or bell, but must be able to provide some other means 
of making an efficient sound signal. 

Visual Distress Signals (Coastal Waters Only): Boats less than 16 feet; manually 
propelled craft of any size; sailboats under 26 feet of completely open construction 
and not equipped with propulsion machinery; and boats competing in an organized 
marine parade, regatta, race, or similar event are only required between sunset and 
sunrise to carry aboard devices that are suitable for night use (see page 44). 

Motorboats Less Than 16 Feet in Length 
Life jackets: One wearable Coast Guard-approved life jacket of a type and size 
appropriate for the conditions and the boating activity being engaged in must 
be carried for each person on board. Life jackets must be readily accessible and  
fit the intended wearer properly. 

Fire Extinguisher: One Type B-I Coast Guard-approved fire extinguisher must be 
carried when no fixed fire extinguishing system is installed in machinery spaces. 
Extinguishers are not required for outboard motorboats less than 26 feet in length 
and of open construction. No portable extinguishers are required if an approved, 
fixed fire extinguishing system is installed in machinery spaces. 

Backfire Flame Arrestor: A Coast Guard-approved backfire flame arrestor is 
required for inboard gasoline motors that are not exposed to the atmosphere above 
the gunwale level. 

Muffling System: An effective muffling system is required for the exhaust of each 
internal combustion engine. Unmodified outboards usually meet legal requirements 
(see page 37). 

Ventilation System: See page 38. 

Sound Signaling Devices: A vessel of less than 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) must 
be able to provide a means of making an efficient sound signal, but is not required 
to carry a whistle or bell. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Visual Distress Signals (Coastal Waters Only): Boats less than 16 feet of completely 
open construction and not equipped with propulsion machinery, and boats 
competing in an organized marine parade, regatta, race, or similar event are only 
required between su nset and sunrise to carry aboard devices that are suitable for 
night use (see page 44). 

Navigation Lights: Navigation lights must be kept in serviceable condition and 
displayed between sunset and sunrise and at times of restricted visibility. For 
motorboats operating during these times, see page 40. 

Motorboats 16 Feet to Less Than 26 Feet in Length 
Life jackets: One wearable Coast Guard-approved life jacket of a type and size 
appropriate for the conditions and the boating activity being engaged in must 
be carried for each person aboard. Life jackets must be readily accessible and of 
an appropriate size for the intended wearer. In addition, the vessel must carry an 
approved Type IV throwable device, which should be immediately available. 

Fire Extinguisher: One Type B-I Coast Guard-approved fire extinguisher must be 
carried when no fixed fire extinguishing system is installed in machinery spaces. 
Extinguishers are not required for outboard motorboats less than 26 feet in length 
and of open construction. No portable extinguishers are required if an approved 
fixed fire extinguishing system is installed in machinery spaces. 

Backfire Flame Arrestor: A Coast Guard-approved backfire flame arrestor is required 
for inboard gasoline motors that are not exposed to the atmosphere above the 
gunwale level. 

Muffling System: An effective muffling system is required for the exhaust of each 
internal combustion engine. Unmodified outboards usually meet legal requirements 
(see page 37). 

Ventilation System: See page 38. 

Sound Signaling Devices: A vessel of less than 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) must be 
able to provide a means of making an efficient sound signal, but is not required to 
carry a whistle or bell. 

Visual Distress Signals (Coastal Waters Only): All boats 16 feet or more in length 
must carry devices aboard at all times. Boaters must carry either: (a) devices that are 
suitable for day use and devices suitable for night use; or (b) devices that can be used 
for both day and night use (see page 44). 

Navigation Lights: Navigation lights must be kept in serviceable condition and 
displayed between sunset and sunrise and at times of restricted visibility. For 
motorboats operating during these times, see page 40. 
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IS OWNER DIFFERENT THAN OPERATOR?  YES   NOOPERATOR NAME, ADDRESS, PHONE #

OWNER NAME AND ADDRESS

OPERATOR EXPERIENCE

 UNDER 10 HOURS

10 TO 100 HOURS

 OVER 100 HOURS

AGE MARINA/RAMP LAUNCHED FROM:

INFORMATION: VESSEL #2 (OTHER VESSEL INVOLVED)

THIS
VESSEL

ONLY

# INJURED # DEAD ESTIMATED DAMAGE RENTED BOAT
 YES   NO

# OF PERSONS ON BOARD # OF PERSONS 
TOWED

BOAT NUMBER (CF OR DOC #) MFR. HULL ID # BOAT NAME DEPTH (TRANS. TO KEEL) BEAM WIDTH LENGTH

BOAT MANUFACTURER BOAT MODEL YEAR BUILT SPEED AT TIME OF ACCIDENT
MPH

# OF ENGINES HORSE POWER

ACTIVITY

 RECREATIONAL
 COMMERCIAL

 OTHER

FIRE
EXTINGUISHER
ON BOARD

 YES   NO

TYPE OF FIRE
EXTINGUISHER

# ONBOARD

FIRE EXTINGUISHER USED

 YES    NO

LIFE JACKETS ON BOARD

 YES    NO

LIFE JACKETS ACCESSIBLE

 YES    NO

LIFE JACKETS WORN

 YES    NO

PROPULSION (select all that apply)

 PROPELLER
 SAIL
 MANUAL
 WATER JET
 AIR THRUST
 OTHER (describe) 

TYPE OF BOAT

 OPEN MOTORBOAT
 CABIN MOTORBOAT
 PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
 HOUSEBOAT
 PONTOON
 INFLATABLE
 SAILBOAT (aux. engine)
 SAILBOAT (sail only)
 CANOE/KAYAK
 RAFT
 ROWBOAT
AIRBOAT
 OTHER (specify) 

HULL MATERIAL

 WOOD
 ALUMINUM
 FIBERGLASS
 PLASTIC
 RUBBER/VINYL/CANVAS
STEEL
 OTHER (specify) ENGINE TYPE (select one)

 OUTBOARD
 STERNDRIVE (I/O)
 INBOARD
 POD DRIVE
 NONE

 OTHER: 

TOTAL HORSEPOWER:   HP

OPERATION AT TIME OF ACCIDENT

 CRUISING
 CHANGING DIRECTION
 CHANGING SPEED
 TOWING SKIER/TUBER
 TOWING SKIER – SKIER DOWN
 TOWING ANOTHER VESSEL
 BEING TOWED BY ANOTHER VESSEL
 DRIFTING
 AT ANCHOR
 TIED TO DOCK
 LAUNCHING
 DOCKING/LEAVING DOCK
 SAILING
 OTHER (specify)

TYPE OF FUEL

GAS
DIESEL
ELECTRIC
OTHER: 

PERSON COMPLETING THE REPORT

NAME ADDRESS PHONE ( ) 

SIGNATURE DATE

QUALIFICATION OF PERSON COMPLETING REPORT

 OPERATOR   OWNER  
 OTHER (specify)

DBW FORM BAR-1 11/17 THIS CONFIDENTIAL REPORT IS USED IN RESEARCH FOR THE PREVENTION OF ACCIDENTS AND A COPY IS FORWARDED TO THE UNITED STATES COAST GUARD

 YES   NO

CALIFORNIA BOATER CARD

OPERATOR EDUCATION 

 USCG AUXILARY 
US POWER SQUADRON
STATE COURSE
INFORMAL 
 NONE 
 OTHER: 

  

 

  

 
 

  

 

   

  
      

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CALIFORNIA BOATING ACCIDENT REPORT CALIFORNIA STATE PARKS DIVISION OF BOATING AND WATERWAYS 

INFORMATION: OPERATOR #1 
OPERATOR NAME, ADDRESS, PHONE # 

AGE 

IS OWNER DIFFERENT THAN OPERATOR? YES NO 

OWNER NAME AND ADDRESS 

OPERATOR EXPERIENCE 

UNDER 10 HOURS

 10 TO 100 HOURS 
OVER 100 HOURS 

CALIFORNIA BOATER CARD 
YES NO 

OPERATOR EDUCATION 

USCG AUXILARY 
US POWER SQUADRON 

STATE COURSE 
INFORMAL 
NONE 
OTHER: 

MARINA/RAMP LAUNCHED FROM: 

INFORMATION: VESSEL #1 (YOUR VESSEL) 

THIS # INJURED # DEAD ESTIMATED DAMAGE RENTED BOAT # OF PERSONS ON BOARD # OF PERSONS TOWED 
VESSEL YES NO 

ONLY 

BOAT NUMBER (CF OR DOC #) MFR. HULL ID # BOAT NAME DEPTH (TRANS. TO KEEL) BEAM WIDTH LENGTH 

BOAT MANUFACTURER BOAT MODEL YEAR BUILT 

FIRE TYPE OF FIREACTIVITY FIRE EXTINGUISHER USED 
EXTINGUISHER EXTINGUISHERRECREATIONAL YES 
ON BOARDCOMMERCIAL

 YESOTHER 

TYPE OF BOAT

 OPEN MOTORBOAT
 CABIN MOTORBOAT 
PERSONAL WATERCRAFT 
HOUSEBOAT 
PONTOON

 INFLATABLE 
SAILBOAT (aux. engine)

 SAILBOAT (sail only)
 CANOE/KAYAK 
RAFT 
ROWBOAT 
AIRBOAT 
OTHER (specify) 

NO 

SPEED AT TIME OF ACCIDENT # OF ENGINES 
MPH 

LIFE JACKETS ON BOARD LIFE JACKETS ACCESSIBLE 
YES NO 

# ONBOARDNO 

HULL MATERIAL

 WOOD 
ALUMINUM

 FIBERGLASS 
PLASTIC 
RUBBER/VINYL/CANVAS 
STEEL 
OTHER (specify) 

PROPULSION (select all that apply)

 PROPELLER 
SAIL 
MANUAL

 WATER JET 
AIR THRUST 
OTHER (describe) 

ENGINE TYPE (select one) 
OUTBOARD 
STERNDRIVE (I/O)

 INBOARD 
POD DRIVE 
NONE 

OTHER: 

TOTAL HORSEPOWER: 
HP 

YES NO 

OPERATION AT TIME OF ACCIDENT

 CRUISING 
CHANGING DIRECTION 
CHANGING SPEED 
TOWING SKIER/TUBER

 TOWING SKIER – SKIER DOWN 
TOWING ANOTHER VESSEL 

 BEING TOWED BY ANOTHER VESSEL 
DRIFTING 
AT ANCHOR  
TIED TO DOCK 
 LAUNCHING  
DOCKING/LEAVING DOCK  
SAILING  
OTHER (specify)  

HORSE POWER 

LIFE JACKETS WORN 
YES NO 

TYPE OF FUEL

 GAS 
DIESEL 
ELECTRIC 
OTHER: 

INFORMATION: OPERATOR #2
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CALIFORNIA BOATING ACCIDENT REPORT CALIFORNIA STATE PARKS DIVISION OF BOATING AND WATERWAYS

The operator of every recreational vessel is required by Section 656 of the Harbors and Navigation Code to file a written report whenever a boating accident occurs which results in death, disappearance, injury that 
requires medical attention beyond first aid, total property damage in excess of $500, or complete loss of a vessel. Reports must be submitted within 48 hours in case of death occurring within 24 hours of an 
accident, disappearance, or injury beyond first aid. All other reports must be submitted within 10 days of the accident. Reports are to be submitted to California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways, 
Accident Unit at P.O. Box 942896, Sacramento, California 94296-0001, (916) 327-1826. Failure to submit this report as required is a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine not to exceed $1000 or imprisonment 
not to exceed 6 months or both. 

TOTAL $$ 

DATE OF ACCIDENT (M/D/Y)

LOCATION ON WATER

# INJURED # DEAD 

TEMPERATURE

WATER AIR 

WEATHER (select all that apply) 
CLEAR 
CLOUDY 
FOG 
RAIN 
SNOW 
HAZY  

TIME OF ACCIDENT COUNTY STATE BODY OF WATER NEAREST CITY OR TOWN

AM
PM 

LATITUDE/LONGITUDE ACCIDENT OCCURRED:

N W 

WATER CONDITIONS 
CALM (Waves less than 6”) 

 CHOPPY (Waves 6”-2’)  
 ROUGH (Waves 2’-6’)  
VERY ROUGH (Waves >6’)  

LAW ENFORCEMENT ON ACCIDENT SCENE? AGENCY NAME

YES NO 

WIND CONDITIONS WEATHER FORECAST

BEFORE VOYAGE  YES 

DURING VOYAGE  YES

NONE
LIGHT (0-6 MPH)
MODERATE (7-14 MPH) 
STRONG (15-25 MPH)
STORM (OVER 25 MPH) AFTER VOYAGE  YES 

VISIBILITY

GOOD FAIR POOR 

AVAILABLE USED 
NO YES NO 

NO YES NO 

NO YES NO 

STRONG CURRENT

YES NO 

TYPE OF ACCIDENT (select all that apply) 

CAPSIZING

COLLISION WITH VESSEL

COLLISION WITH FIXED OBJECT

COLLISION WITH FLOATING OBJECT

FALL OVERBOARD

FALL IN BOAT

GROUNDING

FIRE/EXPLOSION (fuel)

FIRE/EXPLOSION (other than fuel)

FLOODING/SWAMPING

SINKING

STRUCK BY BOAT/PROPELLER

SKIER MISHAP

OTHER: 

CAUSE OF ACCIDENT (select all that apply) 
#1 #2 (see back of sheet for vessel number)

IMPROPER LOOKOUT/INATTENTION

OPERATOR INEXPERIENCE

EXCESSIVE SPEED

 MACHINERY FAILURE (DESCRIBE): 

IMPROPER LOADING

OVERLOADING

EQUIPMENT FAILURE (DESCRIBE):

HAZARDOUS WEATHER/WATER

RESTRICTED VISION

IGNITION OF SPILLED FUEL/VAPOR

IMPROPER ANCHORING

 OFF-THROTTLE STEERING INABILITY  

FAILURE TO VENT

OTHER: 

ACTIVITY AT TIME OF ACCIDENT (select all that apply)
#1 #2 (see back of sheet for vessel number)

WATER SKIING

WAKE BOARDING 

TUBING 

FISHING 

RACING 

WHITEWATER ACTIVITY 

FUELING 

HUNTING 

OTHER:

DID DRUGS OR ALCOHOL CONTRIBUTE TO THE ACCIDENT?

ALCOHOL  YES NO UNKNOWN
DRUGS YES NO UNKNOWN
IF YOU MARKED “YES,” PLEASE PROVIDE DETAILS IN NARRATIVE. 
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DESCRIBE WHAT HAPPENED AND WHAT YOU COULD HAVE DONE TO PREVENT THIS ACCIDENT 
(Use sketch if helpful. Explain the cause of death or injury, medical treatment, etc. If needed, continue description on additional paper.) 

OTHER PROPERTY 
(Damage to items other than vessels) 
DESCRIPTION OF DAMAGE ESTIMATED DAMAGE $$ NONE 

OWNER’S NAME ADDRESS STATE ZIP PHONE 

( ) 
NOTIFIED 

YES NO 

VICTIM OR WITNESS INFORMATION 
VICTIM/WITNESS 

NAME/ADDRESS/PHONE 

VICITM/WITNESS 

STATUS 
RIDING IN 
VESSEL # 

DATE OF 
BIRTH/AGE 

INJURY DESCRIPTION CAUSE OF DEATH 
COULD VICTIM 

SWIM? 
LIFE JACKET 

WORN? 

INJURED 

DEAD 

WITNESS ONLY

 DROWNING 

TRAUMA 

OTHER

 YES 

NO 

YES 

NO 

INJURED 

DEAD 

WITNESS ONLY 

 DROWNING 

TRAUMA 

OTHER

 YES 

NO 

YES 

NO 

INJURED 

DEAD 

WITNESS ONLY

 DROWNING 

TRAUMA 

OTHER

 YES 

NO 

YES 

NO 

INJURED 

DEAD 

WITNESS ONLY

 DROWNING 

TRAUMA 

OTHER

 YES 

NO 

YES 

NO 

DBW FORM BAR-1 11/17 THIS CONFIDENTIAL REPORT IS USED IN RESEARCH FOR THE PREVENTION OF ACCIDENTS AND A COPY IS FORWARDED TO THE UNITED STATES COAST GUARD 
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CALIFORNIA BOATING ACCIDENT REPORT CALIFORNIA STATE PARKS DIVISION OF BOATING AND WATERWAYS

INFORMATION: OPERATOR #1
IS OWNER DIFFERENT THAN OPERATOR?  YES   NOOPERATOR NAME, ADDRESS, PHONE #

OWNER NAME AND ADDRESS

OPERATOR EXPERIENCE

 UNDER 10 HOURS

10 TO 100 HOURS

 OVER 100 HOURS

OPERATOR EDUCATION

 USCG AUXILARY 
 US POWER SQUADRON  
STATE COURSE  
INFORMAL 
 NONE 
 OTHER: 

AGE MARINA/RAMP LAUNCHED FROM:

INFORMATION: VESSEL #1 (YOUR VESSEL)

THIS
VESSEL

ONLY

# INJURED # DEAD ESTIMATED DAMAGE RENTED BOAT
 YES   NO

# OF PERSONS ON BOARD # OF PERSONS TOWED

BOAT NUMBER (CF OR DOC #) MFR. HULL ID # BOAT NAME DEPTH (TRANS. TO KEEL) BEAM WIDTH LENGTH

BOAT MANUFACTURER BOAT MODEL YEAR BUILT SPEED AT TIME OF ACCIDENT
MPH

# OF ENGINES HORSE POWER

ACTIVITY

 RECREATIONAL
 COMMERCIAL

 OTHER

FIRE
EXTINGUISHER
ON BOARD

 YES   NO

TYPE OF FIRE
EXTINGUISHER

# ONBOARD

FIRE EXTINGUISHER USED

 YES    NO

LIFE JACKETS ON BOARD

 YES    NO

LIFE JACKETS ACCESSIBLE

 YES    NO

LIFE JACKETS WORN

 YES    NO

PROPULSION (select all that apply)

 PROPELLER
 SAIL
 MANUAL
 WATER JET
 AIR THRUST
 OTHER (describe) 

TYPE OF BOAT

 OPEN MOTORBOAT
 CABIN MOTORBOAT
 PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
 HOUSEBOAT
 PONTOON
 INFLATABLE
 SAILBOAT (aux. engine)
 SAILBOAT (sail only)
 CANOE/KAYAK
 RAFT
 ROWBOAT
AIRBOAT
 OTHER (specify) 

HULL MATERIAL

 WOOD
 ALUMINUM
 FIBERGLASS
 PLASTIC
 RUBBER/VINYL/CANVAS
STEEL
 OTHER (specify) 

ENGINE TYPE (select one)

 OUTBOARD
 STERNDRIVE (I/O)
INBOARD
 POD DRIVE
 NONE

 OTHER: 

TOTAL HORSEPOWER:   HP

OPERATION AT TIME OF ACCIDENT

 CRUISING
 CHANGING DIRECTION
 CHANGING SPEED
 TOWING SKIER/TUBER
 TOWING SKIER – SKIER DOWN
 TOWING ANOTHER VESSEL
 BEING TOWED BY ANOTHER VESSEL
 DRIFTING
 AT ANCHOR
 TIED TO DOCK
 LAUNCHING
 DOCKING/LEAVING DOCK
 SAILING
 OTHER (specify)

TYPE OF FUEL

GAS
DIESEL
ELECTRIC
OTHER: 

INFORMATION: OPERATOR #2

 YES   NO

CALIFORNIA BOATER CARD

  

 
   

 

 

 

  

 

 

 
 

 

  

 
 

 

    
 

   

       

    
      

  

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

 
 

  
 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

  
  
  
 

   

 

 

 

  

 

 

  

 
 

 

    
 

  
 

       

    
  

  

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

  
  
  
 

 

   

 

 

    

 

 

   
   
 

 

OPERATOR NAME, ADDRESS, PHONE # 

AGE 

IS OWNER DIFFERENT THAN OPERATOR?  YES NO 

OWNER NAME AND ADDRESS 

INFORMATION: VESSEL #2 (OTHER VESSEL INVOLVED) 

THIS # INJURED # DEAD ESTIMATED DAMAGE 
VESSEL  

ONLY  

BOAT NUMBER (CF OR DOC #) MFR. HULL ID # 

BOAT MANUFACTURER BOAT MODEL 

FIRE TYPE OF FIREACTIVITY
EXTINGUISHER EXTINGUISHERRECREATIONAL
ON BOARDCOMMERCIAL

 YESOTHER 

TYPE OF BOAT

 OPEN MOTORBOAT
 CABIN MOTORBOAT
 PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
 HOUSEBOAT
 PONTOON
 INFLATABLE
 SAILBOAT (aux. engine)
 SAILBOAT (sail only)
 CANOE/KAYAK
 RAFT
 ROWBOAT 
AIRBOAT

 OTHER (specify) 

# ONBOARDNO 

HULL MATERIAL

 WOOD
 ALUMINUM
 FIBERGLASS
 PLASTIC
 RUBBER/VINYL/CANVAS 
STEEL
 OTHER (specify) 

PERSON COMPLETING THE REPORT 

NAME 

SIGNATURE 

MARINA/RAMP LAUNCHED FROM: 

ADDRESS 

RENTED BOAT # OF PERSONS ON BOARD # OF PERSONS 
YES NO TOWED 

BOAT NAME DEPTH (TRANS. TO KEEL) BEAM WIDTH LENGTH 

YEAR BUILT 

FIRE EXTINGUISHER USED

 YES NO 

PROPULSION (select all that apply)

 PROPELLER
 SAIL
 MANUAL
 WATER JET
 AIR THRUST
 OTHER (describe) 

ENGINE TYPE (select one)

 OUTBOARD
 STERNDRIVE (I/O)
 INBOARD
 POD DRIVE
 NONE

 OTHER: 

TOTAL HORSEPOWER: 
HP 

PHONE ( ) 

OPERATOR EXPERIENCE

 UNDER 10 HOURS 

10 TO 100 HOURS

 OVER 100 HOURS 

CALIFORNIA BOATER CARD 
YES NO 

OPERATOR EDUCATION 

USCG AUXILARY 

US POWER SQUADRON 
STATE COURSE 
INFORMAL 
NONE 
OTHER: 

SPEED AT TIME OF ACCIDENT # OF ENGINES 
MPH 

LIFE JACKETS ON BOARD LIFE JACKETS ACCESSIBLE

 YES NO YES NO 

OPERATION AT TIME OF ACCIDENT

 CRUISING
 CHANGING DIRECTION
 CHANGING SPEED
 TOWING SKIER/TUBER
 TOWING SKIER – SKIER DOWN
 TOWING ANOTHER VESSEL
 BEING TOWED BY ANOTHER VESSEL
 DRIFTING
 AT ANCHOR
 TIED TO DOCK
 LAUNCHING
 DOCKING/LEAVING DOCK
 SAILING
 OTHER (specify) 

DATE 

HORSE POWER 

LIFE JACKETS WORN

 YES NO 

TYPE OF FUEL 

GAS 
DIESEL 
ELECTRIC 
OTHER: 

QUALIFICATION OF PERSON COMPLETING REPORT

 OPERATOR OWNER  
OTHER (specify)  

DBW FORM BAR-1 11/17 THIS CONFIDENTIAL REPORT IS USED IN RESEARCH FOR THE PREVENTION OF ACCIDENTS AND A COPY IS FORWARDED TO THE UNITED STATES COAST GUARD
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Motorboats 26 Feet to Less Than 40 Feet in Length 
Life jackets: One wearable Coast Guard-approved life jacket of a type and size 
appropriate for the conditions and the boating activity being engaged in must 
be carried for each person aboard. Life jackets must be readily accessible and 
properly fit the intended wearer. In addition, the vessel must carry an approved 
Type IV throwable flotation device, which should be immediately available. 

Fire Extinguisher: Two Type B-I or one Type B-II Coast Guard-approved fire 
extinguishers must be carried when no fixed fire extinguishing system is installed 
in machinery spaces. With a fixed system in the machinery space, one Type B-I fire 
extinguisher must be carried. 

Backfire Flame Arrestor: A Coast Guard-approved backfire flame arrestor is 
required for inboard gasoline motors that are not exposed to the atmosphere 
above the gunwale level. 

Muffling System: An effective muffling system is required for the exhaust of 
each internal combustion engine. Unmodified outboards usually meet legal 
requirements (see page 37). 

Ventilation System: See page 38. 

Sound Signaling Devices: A vessel of less than 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) 
must be able to provide a means of making an efficient sound signal, but is not 
required to carry a whistle or bell. (For vessels over 12 meters, see page 32.) 

Visual Distress Signals (Coastal Waters Only): All boats 16 feet or more in 
length must carry devices aboard at all times. Boaters must carry either: 
(a) devices that are suitable for day use and devices suitable for night use: 
or (b) devices that can be used for both day and night use (see page 44). 

Navigation Lights: Navigation lights must be kept in serviceable condition 
and displayed between sunset and sunrise and at times of restricted visibility. 
For motorboats operating during these times, see page 40. 

Motorboats 40 Feet to 65 Feet in Length 
Life jackets: One wearable Coast Guard-approved life jacket of a type and size 
appropriate for the conditions and the boating activity being engaged in must 
be carried for each person aboard. Life jackets must be readily accessible and 
properly fit the intended wearer. In addition, the vessel must carry an approved 
Type IV throwable flotation device, which should be immediately available. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Fire Extinguisher: Three B-I or one B-I and one B-11 Coast Guard-approved fire 
extinguisher must be carried when no fixed fire extinguishing system is installed in 
machinery spaces. With a fixed system in the machinery space, two Type B-I or one 
Type B-II extinguisher must be carried. 

Backfire Flame Arrestor: A Coast Guard-approved backfire flame arrestor is 
required for inboard gasoline motors that are not exposed to the atmosphere 
above the gunwale level. 

Muffling System: An effective muffling system is required for the exhaust of each 
internal combustion engine. Unmodified outboards usually meet legal requirements 
(see page 37). 

Ventilation System: See page 38. 

Sound Signaling Devices: Vessels 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) or more in length 
are required to carry a whistle and a bell. 

Visual Distress Signals (Coastal Waters Only): All boats 16 feet or more in 
length must carry devices aboard at all times. Boaters must carry either: 
(a) devices that are suitable for day use and devices suitable for night use; 
or (b) devices that can be used for both day and night use (see page 44). 

Navigation Lights: Navigation lights must be kept in serviceable condition and 
displayed between sunset and sunrise and at times of restricted visibility. For 
motorboats operating during these times, see page 40. 

Life Jackets 
All boats, powered or non-powered, must carry at least one wearable Coast Guard-
approved life jacket (also called a personal flotation device or PFD) for every person 
aboard. Life jackets bearing Coast Guard approval are identified by Types I, II, III, IV or V. 
Coast Guard approval is shown by a stencil marking or tag on the life jacket. This tag or 
marking shows the name and address of the manufacturer, the Coast Guard approval 
number and the intended use. It also shows the amount of flotation in the device 
and the type (I, II, III, IV or V). Failure to have a sufficient number of approved devices 
aboard constitutes a violation of state and federal law. 

»  See Life Jackets   
and Flotation Devices  
page 34 –35 

California boating law requires that all wearable 
Type I, II and III life jackets must be readily 
accessible and all Type IV (throwable) flotation 
devices must be immediately available. They must 
be kept in serviceable condition. If they are badly 
torn, damaged, rotted, punctured, or otherwise 
unserviceable, they no longer meet legal 
requirements and should be replaced. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

The minimum requirements are: 
■ All boats 16 feet or more in length, except 

canoes and kayaks: One wearable Coast 
Guard-approved life jacket (Type I, II, III or V) 
for each person on board and one throwable 
(Type IV) device in each boat. 

■ Canoes and kayaks of any length and all other 
boats less than 16 feet in length: A single 
wearable Coast Guard-approved Type I, II, III 
or V life jacket for each person on board. 

Under state law, it is an infraction, punishable by a fine of up to $250, to operate a 
vessel of any length unless every child under 13 years of age on board is wearing a 
Type I, II, III or V Coast Guard-approved life jacket. The law does not apply to: (1) the 
operator of a sailboat on which every child under age 13 is restrained by a harness 
tethered to the sailboat; or (2) the operator of a vessel on which every child under 
age 13 is in an enclosed cabin. 

California boating law does not require wearing life jackets while aboard a vessel, 
other than as noted in the requirements above and those for some Type V life 
jackets and for children under age 13. However, DBW highly recommends that all 
boaters wear life jackets. All wearable life jackets must properly fit the intended 
wearer. Check the manufacturer’s label on the life jacket for the intended use, size 
restrictions and instructions on how to wear the life jacket. 

Non-approved devices such as ski belts may be carried aboard as excess equipment 
only. For more information, please visit: http://www.dbw.ca.gov/Pubs/Pfd/PFDs.pdf. 

Inflatable Life Jackets: The Coast Guard approved inflatable life jackets in 1996. 
However, only certain brands are Coast Guard-approved, and some are only 
appropriate for adults. Proper use of inflatable life jackets, including appropriate 
age limits, varies by manufacturer. Please review the owner’s manual and 
information pamphlet carefully before purchasing this type of life jacket. While 
activation upon impact is not a required feature, inflatables must be equipped at 
a minimum with both manual (pull) and oral (blow) inflation systems. Inflatable 
life jackets must have a full cylinder and all status indicators on the inflator must 
be green to satisfy requirements. Inflatables are not recommended for non-
swimmers and are not intended for use while participating in tow or whitewater 
paddle sports, or while on a personal watercraft (PWC). 

Personal Watercraft: Every person on board a PWC and anyone being towed 
behind a vessel must wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket. (For exceptions, 
see “Water Skiing.”) 

33 

http://www.dbw.ca.gov/Pubs/Pfd/PFDs.pdf


 

    
  

  

  
  

  

  
  
 
  
  

  
  
  
  
  

  

  
 

 
 
  

R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Life Jackets and Flotation Devices 

TYPE I: Offshore Life Jacket 
•	 Intended for offshore boating as well as open 

water and coastal cruising 
•	 Offers the most flotation and is the most effective  

life jacket in rough waters 
• May help prevent hypothermia 
• Designed to turn an unconscious wearer face up 

• Bulky 

TYPE II:  Near-Shore Buoyant Vest 
• Intended for calm, inland water 
• May turn unconscious wearer face up 
• Good for non-swimmers 
• Provides good flotation 

• Less bulky than offshore vests 

TYPE III:  Children’s Life Jacket  
• Intended for general recreational boating 
• Designed for possible immersion 
• May not turn unconscious wearer face up 
• May have special safety features for children 
•	 May be a hybrid that is inherently buoyant  

and can inflate 

TYPE III:  Flotation Aids  
•	 Intended for fishing, hunting, canoeing, 

kayaking, water skiing, or other  
high-impact, high-speed activities 

• Designed for possible immersion 
• May not turn unconscious wearer face up 
• Rugged construction Vest-Type Flotation Jacket 

Manual Inflatable 
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Belt Pack Inflatable 

R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

NOTE:  Regardless of the “Type” shown on a flotation  
device, ALL life jackets shall be used in accordance with  
the Coast Guard approval statement for intended use  
and the manufacturer’s instructions. 

TYPE IV: Throwable Flotation Device  
•	 Intended to be thrown to someone who 

has fallen overboard 
•	 Designed to be grasped and held by user 

until he or she is rescued 

TYPE V:  Special Use Device 
•	 Required to be worn for special uses or 

conditions 
•	 Made for specific activities such as sail 

boarding and rafting 
•	 Designed for use with deck suits, work 

vests, hybrid PFDs, and others as marked 
on the label 

•	 Must follow Coast Guard label for  
wear and use 

TYPE III & V:  Inflatable Life Jackets 
• Available in three types: 

– 	Automatic (inflates automatically upon immersion 
or when manually activated) 

– Manual (only inflates when manually activated) 
– 	Belt Pack (only inflates when manually activated; 

must be placed over head once activated) 
• Easy to wear, comfortable and cool 
• Not approved for children under 16 
• Not intended for sports where immersion is expected 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Underwater Maneuvering Devices 
A person using any underwater maneuvering device is exempt from wearing a life 
jacket. An underwater maneuvering device is any towed or self-powered apparatus 
designed for underwater use that someone can pilot through diving, turning and 
surfacing maneuvers. 

Fire Extinguishers 
Motorboats are required to carry readily accessible fire extinguishers accepted for 
marine use by the Coast Guard. The size and number of extinguishers accepted for 
use on motorboats depend on the size of your boat and whether or not you have a 
fixed extinguishing system installed aboard. Fire extinguishers are not required for 
outboard pleasure boats less than 26 feet in length, or those that are not carrying 
passengers for hire, have no permanently installed fuel tanks, or do not have spaces 
in which explosive or flammable gases or vapors can collect. (For specific 
requirements, see Table A.) The minimum size approved for use aboard pleasure 
boats is the B-I size extinguisher. 

All extinguishers must be readily accessible (preferably not stowed next to common 
fire sources) and must be kept in serviceable condition. An extinguisher is suitable 
for marine use when it bears a label that has either: 

■ Coast Guard approval numbers, “Marine Type USCG” or both markings. 
■ Information stating that it is listed with Underwriters Laboratories (UL) and 

suitable for marine use. The extinguisher must be of the type and size described 
in Table B. UL-listed extinguishers must bear a UL rating of 5-B:C or higher. 

Note: All recently manufactured, UL Marine Type 5 extinguishers will bear both the 
UL and Coast Guard label markings. 

CARBON DIOXIDE HALON DRY CHEMICAL 
EXTINGUISHER EXTINGUISHER EXTINGUISHER 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

All carbon tetrachloride extinguishers and others with toxic vaporizing liquids 
such as chlorobromomethane are neither approved nor accepted as required fire 
extinguishers on any motorboats. 

Remember, the number required by law is only the minimum. Extra extinguishers 
provide additional safety. 

TABLE A FIRE EXTINGUISHER REQUIREMENTS 

Boat Length Without fixed extinguishing 
system in machinery space 

With fixed extinguishing 
system in machinery space 

Less than 26 ft. 1 B-I None 

26 ft. to under 40 ft. 2 B-I or 1 B-II 1 B-l 

40 ft. to 65 ft. 3 B-I or 1 B-II and 1 B-I 2 B-l or 1 B-ll 

TABLE B FIRE EXTINGUISHER CHARACTERISTICS 

UL Listed extinguishers of the type and weight shown below may be selected to meet the type 
and size requirements for the corresponding Coast Guard classification (see Table A). For example, 
if a Coast Guard Type B, Size II extinguisher is required, a 10 lb. dry chemical extinguisher would 
be one of the equivalents. The following specifies only the minimum net agent weight. A larger 
extinguisher would be acceptable. 

Coast Guard 
Classes 

B-I 
B-II 

UL-Listed 
Equivalent 

5-B:C 
0-B:C 

Dry 
Chemical lb. 

2 
10 

Carbon  
Dioxide lb. 

4 
15 

Halon 
1211/1301 lb. 

2½ 
10 

Muffling Systems 
Any motorboat operated on California inland waters or coastal waters up to one mile 
from shore must be muffled or otherwise prevented from exceeding the following 
noise levels when measured by the Stationary Sound Level Measurement. 

Procedure for Pleasure Motorboats (SAE J2005): 

■ 90 dB (A) for engines manufactured before Jan 1, 1993. 
■ 88 dB (A) for engines manufactured on or after Jan 1, 1993. 

All motorboat noise levels must be below 75 dB (A) when measured by the  
Shoreline Sound Level Measurement Procedure (SAE J1970). Authorities generally 
agree that unbaffled exhaust pipes (stacks) do not meet any of the above noise 
level requirements. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Ventilation Systems 
All motorboats or motor vessels, except open boats, made after 1940 and using 
gasoline as a fuel must have at least two ventilator ducts fitted with cowls or 
their equivalent for the efficient removal of explosive or flammable gases from 
all engine and fuel tank compartment bilges. If engine and fuel tank compart­
ments are closed and separated, two such ventilation systems are required. 

At least one exhaust duct must be installed to extend from the open 
atmosphere to the lower portion of the bilge, and at least one intake duct must 
be installed to extend to a point at least midway to the bilge (or at least below 
the carburetor air intake level). The cowls must be located and trimmed for 
maximum effectiveness to prevent displaced fumes from being recirculated. 

Boats built after July 31, 1980, that have a gasoline engine for electrical 
generation, mechanical power or propulsion must be equipped with an 
operable ventilation system. 

■ A compartment containing a permanently installed gasoline engine 
must either be open to the atmosphere or ventilated by an exhaust 
blower system. 

■ The intake duct for an exhaust blower must be in the lower one-third of 
wthe compartment and above the normal level of accumulated bilge water. 

■ A combination of more than one exhaust blower may be used to meet 
specified requirements. 

Boats equipped with either outboard motors or “open” construction inboard 
motors (i.e., not enclosed) are exempt from ventilation requirements. 

Two-Stroke Engines 
There is no statewide prohibition on the use of high emission two-stroke 
vessel engines, and there is no plan to prohibit them. A small number of cities, 
counties or districts have adopted ordinances on drinking water reservoirs that 
restrict or ban the use of high emission, carbureted or electronic fuel injection 
(EFI) two-stroke marine engines. For more information, please visit www.dbw. 
ca.gov/environmental/twostroke. 

38 

http://www.dbw.ca.gov/environmental/twostroke
http://www.dbw.ca.gov/environmental/twostroke


  

  
 

 
  

  
 

  
 

  
 

   
 

 

R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Backfire Flame Control Devices 
Backfire flame control devices are designed to prevent open flame from 
leaving the carburetion system in the event of a backfire. Vessels equipped 
with gasoline engines, except outboard motors, must have one of the 
following backfire flame control devices installed on the engine. These can 
be either: 

■ Coast Guard-approved backfire flame arrestor, suitably secured to the air 
intake with a flame-tight connection 

■ Backfire flame arrestor marked “SAE-1928” or “UL 1111” and suitably secured 
to the air intake with a flame-tight connection 

■ Approved engine air and fuel induction system that provides adequate 
protection from propagation of backfire flame to the atmosphere, 
equivalent to that provided by an acceptable backfire flame arrestor 

■ Flame-tight metallic carburetor air intake attachment, located or positioned 
so backfire flames would be dispersed to the atmosphere outside the vessel 

Note: This last device listed must be acceptable to the Coast Guard and designed 
so that flames will not endanger the vessel, people on board, or nearby vessels 
and structures. 

Photo courtesy of the U.S. Coast Guard. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

Running Lights 
Operating a boat at night without lights is not only dangerous, but is against the law. 
Running lights make it possible for boat operators to properly interpret and react 
to the movements of other boats in darkness. Note: If a boat is used exclusively in 
the daylight hours and not during periods of restricted visibility, running lights are  
not required. 

1 

3 

5 

2 

4 

6 

NIGHT BOATING NAVIGATION LIGHTS 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

All vessels must show required running lights between sunset and sunrise and 
during periods of restricted visibility. Light requirements vary based on vessel 
length and propulsion type. In most cases, requirements for a particular vessel 
are the same under both inland and international rules. 

Power Driven Vessels: A recreational motor-powered vessel underway is required 
to display a masthead light forward, red and green sidelights, and a sternlight, as 
indicated in Figure 1. A recreational powerboat under 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) 
may instead display a 360o all-round sternlight and combination red and green 
sidelights (see Figure 2). 

Sailing Vessels and Vessels Under Oar: Running light requirements for such 
vessels are as follows: 

■ A sailing vessel operating under power of sail only must exhibit sidelights and 
a sternlight (see Figure 3). 

■ A sailing vessel of less than 23 feet (7 meters) in length must, if practicable,
 

exhibit sidelights and a sternlight or lighted lantern showing a white light,
 

which must be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision
 

(see Figure 4).



■ A sailing vessel operating under machinery power only, or under power and 
sails, is considered a power-driven vessel and must display the proper lights 
for a powerboat (see Figure 5). 

■ A vessel under oars may display those lights prescribed for sailing vessels or 
have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light, 
which must be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision (see Figure 6). 

The running lights described above are the most common, but boaters operating 
at night should be aware that there are other possible combinations of lights. 

Anchor Lights 
An anchor light is an all-round white light exhibited where it can best be seen and is 
visible for two miles. Power-driven vessels and sailing vessels at anchor must display 
anchor lights, with these exceptions: 

■ Vessels less than 23 feet (7 meters) in length are not required to display anchor 
lights unless anchored in or near a narrow channel, fairway or anchorage, or 
where other vessels normally navigate. 

■ Vessels less than 65 feet 7 inches (20 meters) in inland waters when at anchor in 
a special anchorage area designated by the Secretary of Transportation are not 
required to exhibit an anchor light. 
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R e q u i R e d  e q u i p m e n t

Visual Distress-Signaling Devices 
Vessels operating on coastal waters must carry the required number of approved 
visual distress-signaling devices selected from Table C (page 44). Coastal waters 
include territorial seas and those waters directly connected to those seas where any 
entrance exceeds two nautical miles between opposite shorelines to the first point 
where the largest distance between shorelines narrows to two miles (e.g., bays, 
sounds, harbors, rivers, inlets, etc.). The carriage requirements for vessels operating 
on coastal waters are: 

■ All boats 16 feet or more in length must carry devices aboard at all times. Boaters 
must carry either: (a) devices suitable for day use and devices suitable for night 
use; or (b) devices suitable for both day and night use. 

■ Boats less than 16 feet; manually propelled craft of any size; sailboats under 
26 feet of completely open construction and not equipped with propulsion 
machinery; and boats competing in any organized marine parade, regatta, race, 
or similar event are only required to carry aboard devices that are suitable for 
night use between sunset and sunrise. 

All visual distress-signaling devices must be Coast Guard-approved, readily accessible 
and in serviceable condition. Devices carried aboard beyond the date stamped on 
each device will not meet legal minimum requirements. 

Some of the recognized signals for indicating distress and need of assistance are 
shown on page 43. On coastal waters, boaters must carry Coast Guard-approved 
visual distress-signaling devices. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

RECOGNIZED SIGNALS 

Red Meteor 
Fog Horn 

Continuous Sound 
White Light 

Flashing 
Gun or Noise at 1 
Minute Intervals 

Orange Flag 
Black Square and Ball 

SOS by Visual 
or Audio Signal 

May Day 
by Radio 

Parachute 
Red Flare 

Dye Marker 
(any color) 

Code Flags 
“N” and “C” 

Square Flag 
and Ball 

Wave Arms 

Radio-Telegraph 
Alarm 

Radio-Telephone 
Alarm Signal 

EPIRB 

Emergency Position 
Indicating Beacon (EPIRB) 

Floating Orange 
Smoke Signal 
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R e q u i R e d  e q u i p m e n t

TABLE C VISUAL DISTRESS SIGNALS 

Boaters may select a group or any combination as long as the device meets the 
specific requirement for their boat. 

Number 
on Device Device Description Accepted  

use for 

Number 
required to 
be carried 

160.021 Hand red flare, distress signals Day and night 3 

160.022 Floating orange smoke distress signals Day only 3 

160.024 
Pistol-projected parachute red flare distress 
signals 

Day and night 1 3 

160.036 Hand-held rocket-propelled parachute red Day and night 3 

160.037 Hand-held orange smoke distress signals Day only 3 

160.057 Floating orange smoke distress signals Day only 3 

160.066 
Distress signal for boats, red aerial 
pyrotechnic flare 

Day and night 2 3 

160.072 Distress signal for boats, orange flag Day only 1 

160.013 Electric distress light for boat Night only 1 

1 These signals require use in combination with a suitable launching device approved under 46 CFR 160.028. 
2 These devices may be either self-contained or pistol launched, and either meteor or parachute assisted type. 

Some of these signals may require use in combination with a suitable launching device approved under 46 CFR 160.028. 

Marine Sanitation Devices 
While vessels are not required to have a marine toilet on board, if your boat has one, it 
must be connected to a Coast Guard-approved Type I, II, or III marine sanitation device 
(MSD). 

Federal and State laws forbids dumping sewage—treated or untreated—or any waste 
derived from sewage into the lakes, reservoirs or fresh water impoundments of this 
state. Federal regulations and equipment standards established jointly by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Coast Guard govern the use of MSDs. 
Disconnecting, bypassing or operating a MSD so as to discharge sewage into water is a 
misdemeanor, unless expressly authorized or permitted by law. 

Note: Additional information about MSDs and regulations about discharging sewage 
can be found on page 52. 
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R e q u i r e d  E q u i p m e n t

RECOMMENDED ADDITIONAL EQUIPMENT 
Less than 

16 feet 
16 feet to under 

26 feet 
26 feet to under 

40 feet 
40 feet to 

65 feet 

ITEMS 

E = essential 
D = desirable 

Op
en

 w
at

er
s

Se
m

i-p
ro

te
ct

ed

Pr
ot

ec
te

d

Op
en

 w
at

er
s

Se
m

i-p
ro

te
ct

ed

Pr
ot

ec
te

d

Op
en

 w
at

er
s

Se
m

i-p
ro

te
ct

ed

Pr
ot

ec
te

d

Op
en

 w
at

er
s

Se
m

i-p
ro

te
ct

ed

Pr
ot

ec
te

d 

Anchor, cable (line, chain etc.) E E E E E E E E E E E E 

Bailing device (pump etc.) E E E E E E E E E E E E 

Boat hook – – – D D D E E E E E E 

Bucket (fire fighting/bailing) E E E E E E E E E E E E 

Distress signals* E E D E E D E E E E E E 

Emergency drinking water E D – E D – E D – E D – 

Fenders D D D D D D D D D D D D 

First aid kit and manual  
(10- to 20-unit) 

E E E E E E E E E E E E 

Flashlight E E E E E E E E E E E E 

Heaving line – – – – – – D D D D D D 

Light list D D – E E D E E E E E E 

Local chart(s) E D – E E E E E E E E E 

Mirror (for signaling) D D – D D – D D – D D – 

Mooring lines E E E E E E E E E E E E 

Motor oil and grease  
(extra supply) 

– – – D D D D D D D D D 

Oars, spare E E E E E E - – – – – – 

Radio direction finder – – – D – – D – – D – – 

Radio, telephone / EPIRB D – – D D – D D – D D – 

Ring buoy(s) (additional) D D D D D D D D D D D D 

Shear pins (if used) E E D E E D – – – – – – 

Depth sounding device, (lead 
line, etc.) 

D D – D D D E E E E E E 

Spare batteries D D D D D D D D D D D D 

Spare parts E D – E E D E E D E E D 

Tables, current – – – – – – – D D – E E 

Tables, tide 

Tools 

– 

E 

– 

D 

D 

– 

– 

E 

– 

E 

D 

D 

– 

E 

D 

E 

D 

D 

– 

E 

E 

E 

E 

D 

* Distress signal devices are required on coastal waters on certain sized boats or during certain times. 
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G r e e n  B o a t i n g  G u i d e l i n e s

GREEN BOATING GUIDELINES 
Boater Responsibility 
Boaters play an important role in protecting the health of California’s waterways. Boat 
sewage, graywater, cleaning products, spilled fuel and oil, trash and aquatic invasive 
species are all potential sources of pollution. Government alone cannot protect 
California’s environment. Every boater must take responsibility for pollution prevention 
and try to minimize the environmental and public health impacts from boating activities. 

For additional information on green boating guidelines beyond that contained in 
this booklet, visit the following web site: www.BoatingCleanandGreen.com. 

Boat Maintenance 
Products used to wash boat hulls and decks often contain toxic ingredients that are 
harmful to the marine environment. Degreasers dry the natural oils that fish need for 
their gills to take in oxygen. Underwater hull cleaning can leave toxic paint residues 
in harbor sediments. 

■ Limit in-water maintenance and perform cleaning where debris can be captured and 
disposed of properly. Marina tenants should check whether or not their marina has estab­
lished guidelines for the type of boat maintenance work that can be done in the slip. 

■ Purchase greener alternatives that are water-based, biodegradable, phosphate-free, 
and/or less toxic (better if more than one green attributes are claimed). Seek safer 
alternatives in this book on page 47, at www.goodguide.com or look for approved 
alternatives by EcoLabels such as Green Seal, Ecologo, or the US EPA Design for the 
Environment (DfE). 

■ Do not sand in heavy wind. Sand with vacuum sanders or grinders (not steel wool), 
which automatically collect and store paint, varnish, or wood dust before it can get into 
the marine environment (or eyes or lungs). Some boat yards have these tools for rent. 

■ Avoid products with phosphates, ammonia, lye, sodium hypochlorite (bleach),
 

chlorinated hydrocarbons (methylene chloride, perchloroethylene, or
 

trichloroethylene), and petroleum distillates.
 


■ Keep absorbents or rags within reach to wipe up spills. 
■ Suspend a tarp or polyethylene sheet between the boat and the dock to catch 

any spills, dust, or debris that would otherwise end up in the water. 
■ Consider alternative, non-biocide hull coatings that contain no tributyltin, heavymetals 

such as copper and zinc or biocides. Clean the bottom with a soft, non-abrasive 
sponge. Use hull cleaning companies who use green management practices 
such as monitoring their divers and using nonabrasive scrubbing agents. For more 
information: ucanr.org/sites/coast/ and www.portofsandiego.org/environment/ 
alternative-hull-paints.html 
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G r e e n  B o a t i n g  G u i d e l i n e s

ALTERNATIVES TO TOXIC PRODUCTS 

Toxic Product Alternative 

Detergent and Soap Use fresh water and a lot of elbow grease 

Bleach Try hydrogen peroxide 

Scouring Powders Use baking soda or salt 

Floor Cleaner Mix 1 cup white vinegar in 2 gallons water 

Window Cleaner Mix 1 cup vinegar in 1 quart warm water 

Varnish Cleaner Mix ½ cup vinegar and ½ cup water 

Head Cleaner Brush with baking soda 

Shower Cleaner Wet surface and use scouring cloth with baking soda 

Aluminum Cleaner Mix 2 tablespoons cream of tartar in 1 quart of water 

Chrome Cleaner/Polish Clean with apple cider vinegar, polish with baby oil 

Fiberglass Stain Remover Make a baking soda paste 

Drain Opener Disassemble and replace; avoid toxic products 

Mildew Remover Make paste of equal parts lemon juice and salt 

Wood Polish Mix 3 parts olive oil and 1 part white vinegar, or use almond 
or olive oil (interior unvarnished wood only) 

Oil and Gas 
Oil and gasoline contain hydrocarbons and heavy metals that pollute and are 
toxic to aquatic life. Oil can coat the feathers and fur of wildlife, destroying their 
natural insulation from cold. Once ingested, oil moves up the food chain from tiny 
plankton to fish, birds and even humans, and can cause reproductive problems, 
weakness and death. 

Even a thin film of oil can kill aquatic organisms that live near the water’s 
surface. The cumulative effect of small spills has a serious impact on coastal 
and inland waters. 

To prevent pollution from oil and gas spills and help maintain a healthy and 
aesthetically pleasing recreational environment for boaters and others: 

■ Use caution when filling your fuel tank and don’t top off. Know the capacity 
of your tank and leave it at least 10 percent empty. 

■ Catch fuel drips with an absorbent pad. Properly dispose of saturated 
absorbents at a hazardous waste disposal location. 
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G r e e n  B o a t i n g  G u i d e l i n e s

■ Don’t hose down gas spills or apply detergents or soaps to remove fuel or oil sheen 
in the water. Using soap for this purpose is both bad for the environment and illegal. 

■ Install fuel tank vent whistles or fuel/air separators (available at any marine supply 
store) to avoid spills. 

■ Inspect fuel lines and hoses periodically. Replace as needed. 
■ Use funnels for pouring oil and keep a supply of oil absorbent pads onboard for 

cleaning up spills. 
■ Dispose of used oil and drained oil filters at a waste oil recycling center. 
■ If a spill occurs, notify marina management immediately. 
■ Keep oil and fuel from entering our waterways. To view instructional videos and 

other tips visit www.BoatingCleanandGreen.com 

All oil and chemical spills must be reported to the National Response Center 
800-424-8802 and the State Line 800-OILS911 (800-645-7911). Visit www.earth911.org 
or call 800-CLEANUP (800-253-2687) for your nearest oil, recycling and hazardous 
waste disposal center. 

Bilge Oil 
Ninety percent of oil in marine waters is from small, chronic sources such as bilges, 
outboard motors, poor fueling procedures, urban run-off and improper disposal of 
used oil products. You can help protect California’s waterways by preventing oily bilge 
water from being pumped overboard. 

■ Keep engines well tuned; regularly check seals, gaskets, hoses, and connections 
for leaks and drips. Change oil filters often. 

■ Use drip pans with oil absorbent pads while draining oil from the bilges. 
■ Use an oil absorbent in the bilge to capture unexpected leaks. The absorbents 

will capture oil before the bilge pump discharges it into the water. Discard used 
oil absorbents at a household hazardous waste collection center. Also consider 
installing an oil/water separator. 

■ Clean and maintain bilges. Do not use detergents while cleaning. 
■ Don’t mix used oil with other substances. 
■ Precautions: When using oil absorbents in the bilge, secure them to prevent 

clogging or fouling the bilge pump float or sensor. Oil and fuel are flammable. 
Keep oil and fuel-saturated absorbents away from heat or sources of ignition and 
in well-ventilated areas. 

■ Remove oily bilge water at a bilge pumpout station. 

Remember: Under the Harbors and Navigation Code, it is unlawful to discharge oil 
into or upon the navigable waters of California. 
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G r e e n  B o a t i n g  G u i d e l i n e s

Oily Waste Discharge Placard 
Federal law requires all boats 26 feet or longer to display an Oily Waste Discharge 
Placard in the engine compartment or near the fuel tank. Placards are available from 
marine supply businessess or online at www.uscgboating.org/images/420.PDF. 

Aquatic Invasive Species 
Non-native aquatic species—plants, fish and animals—are invading our state’s 
coastal and inland waters. These pests can increase dramatically under the right 
conditions, displacing native species, clogging waterways, and impacting navigation 
and recreation. Once introduced, they are nearly impossible to eliminate. Hydrilla, 
Egeria densa, Water Hyacinth, and quagga and zebra mussels are some of the nuisance 
species that can be accidentally transported by recreational boaters when caught in 
propellers or intakes or attached to hulls. Controlling these aquatic invasive species is 
a multi-million dollar problem in California. 

You can help prevent the introduction and spread of non-native species from one 
body of water to another by cleaning, draining and drying your boat and by taking 
these steps: 

■ Avoid chopping vegetation with your boat’s propeller. 
■ Inspect your boat and remove aquatic plants or animals before you leave any 

body of water. 
■ Inspect all exposed surfaces. Small mussels feel like sandpaper to the touch. 
■ Wash the hull of each watercraft thoroughly. 
■ Drain all water and dry all areas. 
■ Drain and dry the lower outboard unit. 
■ Clean and dry all live-wells. 
■ Empty and dry any buckets. 
■ Dispose of all bait in the trash. 
■ There are specific drying times that need to be calculated by each boater. 

Please refer to www.100thmeridian.org/Emersion.asp to calculate. 

To help prevent further spread of aquatic weeds, it is important for boaters to clean 
all plant fragments from their watercraft and equipment. To learn more about 
DBW’s control programs for submerged aquatic vegetation and floating 
aquatic vegetation in the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta, sign up for the weekly 
announcement at www.dbw.parks.ca.gov/Environmental/Aquatic.aspx 

Be sure to report new infestations of non-native aquatic species to the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service at (209) 946-6400. Visit www.dbw.ca.gov for more information on 
quagga and zebra mussels or call (866) 440-9530. 
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Restrictions on California’s Waterways 
Quagga and Zebra Mussels: Inspections are determined by county or local 
municipalities, and in some cases, by the Department of Parks and Recreation. 
Boaters should check ahead to see whether boat inspections will be required. 

Solid Waste and Marine Debris 
Trash in the water or washed up on a beach is unsightly and can injure or kill birds, fish 
and marine mammals. Ingestion of plastic waste or entanglement in fishing lines and 
nets can result in mortalities. Floating debris and solid objects may cause structural 
boat damage or mechanical failures. 

As a boater, you can help keep our waters clean and prevent fish and wildlife injuries 
by managing and disposing of all solid waste properly. 

■ Stash your trash on-board in a designated trash bin and save cans, bottles,
 

plastics and paper for recycling.
 


■ Avoid plastic bags and carry a reusable canvas bag. Bring plastic bags to a
 

supermarket for recycling.
 


■ Remove product packaging at home. Pack your food in reusable containers. 
■ Cigarette butts are the most common type of litter found washed up on beaches 

and are not biodegradable. Place extinguished cigarette butts in the trash. 
■ It is illegal to dump any garbage overboard into the navigable waters of the state 

(including inland waters and up to 3 miles from shore). 
■ While on your boat, pick up any litter or marine debris that can be safely reached 

with a net and dispose of it properly. Participate in a local beach or marina cleanup 
event. Call 800-CLEANUP or visit coastforu.org for organized events in your area. 

Note: Under the Maritime Pollution Act (MARPOL) International Convention to Prevent 
Pollution From Ships and U.S. federal regulations, it is illegal for any vessel to discharge 
plastics or garbage containing plastics into any waters. 

Take used fishing line back to a recycling bin at a participating boating facility. Visit 
www.BoatingCleanandGreen.com (click on ‘Monofilament Fishing Line Program’ 
Under Quick Links) to identify a location near you. Or, send your monofilament fishing 
line directly to: Pure Fishing, 1900 18th St., Spirit Lake, IA 51360-1999, tel. (800) 237-5539. 

Marine Pollution Placard 
Federal law now requires all boats 26 feet or more in length, when operating in waters 
under U.S. jurisdiction, to display an informational placard on federal marine pollution 
prevention laws. You must display the required placard detailing these prohibitions in 
a prominent location where passengers and crew can read it. The placard must be at 
least 40 square inches (5” x 9”) in size. They can be purchased at marine supply dealers. 
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3 to 12 Nautical Miles from Shore 

Lakes, Rivers, Bays, Sounds and all Waters up to 3 Nautical Miles from Shore 

NOT LEGAL   
Plastic and any 
garbage other 
than graywater 
or dishwater 

LEGAL  
Graywater (drainage from shower, 
laundry, bath and wash basin 
drains), dishwater (liquid drainage 
from manual or automatic 
washing of cooking utensils) 

NOT LEGAL 
Plastic and any 
garbage other 
than graywater 
or dishwater 

LEGAL 
Graywater, dishwater, and if 
ground to pieces smaller than 
1 square inch: food waste 

NOT LEGAL 
Plastic and any 
garbage other 
than graywater 
or dishwater 

LEGAL 
Graywater, dishwater, and 
ground food waste 

MARINE POLLUTION (MARPOL) REGULATIONS 
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Household Hazardous Waste 
Topside and anti-fouling paints, wood preservatives, lacquers, solvents, batteries, 
used oil, zinc anodes and out-of-date flares are typical hazardous wastes generated 
by boaters. Some are suspected carcinogens, and all are toxic to humans and aquatic 
life. Do your part to control household hazardous waste. 

■ Use non-toxic, biodegradable products when possible. 
■ Never dispose of hazardous wastes in the trash, water or gutter. 
■ Use the smallest amount of a toxic product necessary to do the job. 
■ Place ignitable paint waste and old gasoline in closed containers to prevent
 


pollution or fire.
 

■ Check with your marina before disposing of used oil or other hazardous wastes. 

Some marinas provide recycling/disposal service. 

All boaters must dispose of hazardous waste properly. Call 800-CLEANUP 
(800-253-2687), visit earth911.org, or contact your local solid waste authority for 
instructions on how and where to properly dispose of household hazardous waste 
and to find a disposal location near you. 

Sewage 
Untreated sewage discharged from boats can spread diseases, contaminate shellfish 
beds and lower oxygen levels in water. Exposure to sewage-polluted water can result 
in gastroenteritis, hepatitis, dysentery and cholera. Discharging raw sewage into 
any of California’s lakes, rivers, reservoirs or coastal waters within three miles of shore 
is prohibited within U.S. navigable waters. State law also prohibits dumping any 
human waste (treated or untreated) in a marina, yacht harbor, fresh water lake, or 
fresh water impoundment, No Discharge Zones and into rivers that does not support 
interstate traffic. 

A state or local peace officer who reasonably suspects that a vessel is discharging 
sewage in a prohibited area may board that vessel, if the owner or operator is aboard, 
to inspect the MSD for proper operation and to place a dye tablet in the holding tank. 

One of DBW’s goals is to eliminate overboard discharge of sewage through increased 
use of pumpout facilities and porta-potty dump stations. You can help by: 

■ Never dumping raw sewage into California waters. 
■ Using public toilets onshore before departing. 
■ Using a pumpout facility to dispose of holding tank wastes. 
■ On small boats, using a porta-potty and disposing of wastes in an onshore dump 

station or toilet. 
■ Keeping the “Y” valve properly secured in the closed position (to prevent accidental 

discharge) when navigating inland waters or less than three miles offshore. 
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■ Avoid holding tank disinfectants and deodorizers 
used in Marine Sanitation Devices (MSDs) that 
contain chemicals of concern including: Chlorine 
compounds (including sodium hypochlorite), 
formaldehyde, paraformaldehyde, ammonium 
compounds, glutaraldehyde, paradichloro-
benzene, or anti-microbials (such as Dowicil or 
Bronopol). Use enzyme and bio-active treatments 
when possible as these are biodegradable and less toxic treatments. Read labels 
carefully and use only the amount recommended to ensure adequate treatment.

For California pumpout locations, visit www.dbw.ca.gov/Pumpouts.  
Visit http://www.dbw.parks.ca.gov/PDF/CleanGreen/marinaoilsewage.pdf  
for mobile boat-to-boat services.

No Discharge Areas
It is illegal to release wastes, treated or not, into a federally designated  
No Discharge Area. Your marine sanitation device (MSD) must be connected to  
a holding tank or secured to prevent all sewage discharges. 

California’s No Discharge Areas are:
■ El Dorado County: Lake Tahoe
■ Los Angeles County: Avalon Bay Harbor
■ Marin County: Richardson Bay
■ Orange County: Dana Point Harbor; Huntington Harbor; Newport Bay  

(Upper and Lower); Sunset Bay 
■ Placer County: Lake Tahoe
■ San Diego County: Mission Bay; Oceanside Harbor; San Diego Bay
■ Ventura County: Channel Islands Harbor

Graywater
Water from onboard sinks, washers and showers is called graywater, which is 
discharged directly into the water without treatment. Graywater is often full of 
phosphates that pollute the water and encourage the growth of unwanted algae.  
The discharge of graywater is prohibited in some harbors and marinas. Check  
with marina personnel for local restrictions.

To help reduce the amount of graywater discharged:

■ Use shore-side laundry facilities and showers whenever possible.
■ Limit the amount of water you use in your boat’s sinks and showers.
■ Use non-phosphate and biodegradable soaps.
■ Use the smallest amount of a cleaning product to get the job done.

PUMPOUT STATION

http://www.dbw.ca.gov/Pumpouts
http://www.dbw.parks.ca.gov/PDF/CleanGreen/marinaoilsewage.pdf
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Fish Waste Management
The amount of fish waste disposed into a small, enclosed basin can exceed amounts 
found naturally in the water. In small quantities, this fish waste is eaten by scaveng-
ing fish and is not a problem. In large amounts where water circulation is restricted, 
decomposition of fish waste can deplete the water of dissolved oxygen, leading to 
water quality degradation and fish kills. “Fish feeding” with bait or cleaned fish loads 
basins with nutrients and can disrupt the feeding behavior of wild animals or spread 
disease among them.

■ Always practice proper fish-cleaning methods and proper disposal of fish wastes.
■ Dispose of unwanted bait at sea.
■ Gut fish and dispose of the contents at sea.
■ Use fish cleaning stations with trash receptacles and wastewater hookups.

Waste Management Plan
All U.S. vessels 40 feet or more in length and equipped with a galley and berthing 
must carry a written Waste Management Plan if the vessel operates beyond three 
miles from shore. The Waste Management Plan must designate the person in charge 
of carrying out the plan and describe procedures for collecting, processing, storing 
and properly disposing of garbage in keeping with the prohibitions listed on page 51.

Marine Protected Areas
Marine protected areas are special underwater places, similar to wilderness areas on 
land, designed to protect key ocean habitats and species by managing activities  
that threaten their integrity. In 2012, California became a leader in ocean conservation 
by completing the first statewide network of marine protected areas (MPAs) in the  
United States. Today 124 MPAs stretch along the entire coast between the borders of 
Oregon and Mexico.

Marine Protected Areas 
(MPAs) include a variety 
of allowed activities 
and protections. Special 
Closures are MPAs that 
safeguard sensitive 
seabird nesting and 
marine mammal 
haul-out sites. These 
areas are closed to all 
watercraft in an effort 
to minimize wildlife 
disturbance. 

Photo Ralph Wessel
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For information on special closures, visit www.SeabirdProtectionNetwork.org. 
For more detailed information on MPAs, maps, coordinates, and allowed uses,  
visit: www.wildlife.ca.gov/MPAs. 

Proper Vessel Disposal
Proper vessel disposal is a vital part of clean and responsible boating. Because 
there are several environmental hazards associated with old vessels, including 
used oil, solvents and used batteries, it is important that you properly dispose of 
your vessel at the appropriate time.

Never abandon or sink your vessel to dispose of it; not only does it pose an 
environmental and navigational hazard on our state’s waterways but also it is  
illegal. Failure to comply with the law is punishable by a fine of up to $3,000.

There are several options for proper vessel disposal: donation, recycling, 
dismantling, and DBW’s Vessel Turn-In Program.

Landfill Disposal Sites: It is possible to take an unwanted vessel to a landfill 
site for disposal. Contact your local transfer station or landfill agency for further 
information regarding acceptance, costs and hazardous waste restrictions.  
If you are required to remove hazardous materials first before disposing at a 
landfill location, check DBW’s website under “Boating Clean and Green” for  
helpful information for proper disposal of these wastes. 

Recycling: Used boat part dealers, or salvagers, may accept your old vessel for 
its parts, which they resell. Some dealers will compensate the boat owner for 
the value of the useable parts minus the total cost of dismantling the vessel and 
recycling or disposing of hazardous wastes; however each dealer has its own 
specific requirements for the length and type of vessel they will accept. 

Dismantling: Some used boat dealers will dismantle and dispose of a vessel  
that has no redeemable value. Each dealer has its own requirements for vessel 
length and type, and each dealer will charge for this service. The costs usually  
run between $15 to $200 per foot and may include transportation, labor, disposal, 
and recycling or disposing of used oil and other hazardous materials. 

Vessel Turn-In Program: Known as VTIP, this program is a no-cost alternative  
for recreational boat owners to surrender an unwanted boat. Surrendering a  
boat is as simple as contacting a participating local agency and making 
arrangements to drop-off a boat. You must be the registered owner and sign a 
release of interest in the boat. Check DBW’s website to find an agency near you. 
Visit www.dbw.ca.gov/VTIP 

http://www.dbw.ca.gov/VTIP
http://www.SeabirdProtectionNetwork.org.
http://www.wildlife.ca.gov/MPAs.
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REGISTRATION
General Guidelines
California law requires all vessels to be registered and numbered except:

■ Boats propelled manually
■ Boats eight feet or less in length propelled solely by sail
■ Certain vessels owned by public agencies
■ Vessels documented by the Coast Guard
■ Foreign vessels
■ Ship’s lifeboats used solely for lifesaving purposes
■ Vessels having valid registration in the state of principal use and not remaining  

in California over 90 consecutive days
■ Sailboards

These guidelines include vessels that are moored, whether or not they are used.

How to Register
Application to register a vessel may be made at any office of the Department of Motor 
Vehicles (DMV). Upon receipt of the required information and fees, DMV will issue you a 
Certificate of Number and Certificate of Ownership. The boat registration number is the 
number (beginning with CF) shown on the certificates.

Certificate of Number: The Certificate of Number, or temporary Certificate of Number, 
must be available for inspection on the vessel whenever it is being used on the water.  
You are required to properly display the current registration stickers on your vessel next  
to the CF number to permit enforcement officers to determine, without boarding, that  
the vessel is currently registered. 

Mussel Fee: California registered recreational vessels using fresh water bodies within 
the state are required to display a “Mussel Fee Paid” sticker on the hull next to the current 
registration sticker. Paying the Mussel Fee does not entitle vessels to bypass inspections  
or fees for inspections conducted by individual reservoir owners or managers.

Certificate of Ownership: Keep your Certificate of Ownership in a safe place—this is your 
evidence of title to the vessel. Certificates issued will also contain the boat’s identifying 
number (known as the hull identification number), which is the number permanently 
marked on the transom by the manufacturer or builder, or the number assigned by DMV 
and marked on the transom by the owner. An application for transfer of ownership can  
be found on the reverse side of the Certificate of Ownership. 

Taxes: After you register, your vessel may be subject to a use tax based on the  
purchase price if it was acquired out of state or from a private party. For additional 
information regarding use taxes, contact your local Board of Equalization or DMV office.
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Although DMV is responsible for the collection of biennial vessel registration fees,  
boat owners may still be subject to annual local or county taxes. Boats are subject to 
personal property taxes assessed by the assessor in the county where your boat is 
principally located. Failure to pay personal property taxes assessed on a boat may result 
in the nonrenewal of your boat’s registration. Questions concerning taxes on boats 
should be directed to your county assessor. Registration fee information can be found  
at dmv.ca.gov/vr/fees/vessels.htm.

Display of Numbers and Stickers
Along with your boat registration number, DMV will also issue you a set of registration 
stickers. Numbers and stickers issued at the time of registration must be placed on 
each side of the forward half of the vessel, usually on the bow (see the figures below). 
Registration stickers must be securely affixed three inches aft of, and in line with, the 
registration numbers. The number must be visible from each side of the vessel. No other 
numbers, letters or devices may be placed in the vicinity of the state-assigned number.

■ To separate the numerals from the letters, spaces the width of the letter “C” or 
hyphens may be used between the prefix and the number, and between the 
number and the suffix. 

■ Letters and numerals must be block characters at least three inches high. Choose 
a color for the letters and numbers that will contrast well with the hull or backing 
plate color of your vessel. In determining height and contrast, any border, trim, 
outlining or shading around the number shall not be considered.

■ If placement on a flared bow would make the number difficult to read, it should be 
affixed on some other part of the forward half of the vessel where it can be easily read.

■ For PWCs, the numbers and stickers must also be affixed on each side of the 
forward half of the vessel on a non-removable portion of the hull. 

■ On inflatable boats or vessels so configured that a number will not properly 
adhere or cannot be clearly seen, it should be painted on or attached to a  
backing plate, along with the registration sticker. 

STARBOARD SIDE PORT SIDE

CORRECT DISPLAY OF NUMBER
MUSSEL FEE STICKER 

REGISTRATION STICKER

       CF 5576 JS        CF-5576-JS

http://dmv.ca.gov/vr/fees/vessels.htm.
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The law also requires that a set of carbon monoxide warning stickers be placed on the 
transom and helm of all new and used motorized boats sold in California. For more 
information, see the section on carbon monoxide on page 16 of this booklet.

Emission Standards
New vessels purchased in California with sterndrive or inboard spark-ignition marine 
engines below 500 horsepower manufactured on or after Jan 1, 2008, and vessels with 
engines of any rated power output manufactured on or after Jan 1, 2009, must have a 
permanently affixed label indicating that the engine meets or exceeds specified 2008 
California emissions standards. These engines are also required to be accompanied by 
a hang tag that must be submitted with the initial application for a number by either 
the retail seller or the purchaser in order to receive a number from DMV.

Notification Requirements
You are required to notify DMV in writing whenever any of the following takes place:

1.  Your vessel has been destroyed or abandoned. This notice must be given within 15 
days and be accompanied by the Certificate of Number and Certificate of Ownership.

2. Y our address has changed. This notice must be given within 15 days.

3. Y ou sell your vessel. This notice must be provided within five calendar days and 
must include the date of sale, a description of the vessel, and the name and  
address of the new owner. Registration forms may be obtained from any local  
DMV office or authorized registration agent or by writing:

California Department of Motor Vehicles 
Attn: Registration Processing Units 
P.O. Box 942869 
Sacramento, CA 94269-0001

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT 
NUMBERS AND STICKERS
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RESOURCES AND CONTACT INFORMATION
EMERGENCY CONTACTS
Emergency Telephone System: 911
24-hour Vessel Assistance (from BoatUS, fees involved):  800-888-4869
Californians Turn in Poachers and Polluters:  888-344-CALTIP  
(888-334-2258) or text to 847411 “CALTIP [your message]

AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES SIGHTINGS AND INQUIRIES
California Department of Fish and Wildlife:  866- 440-9530  
www.wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Invasives/Report
California State Parks, Division of Boating and Waterways:  888-326-2822 
www.dbw.parks.ca.gov/BoaterInfo/AquaInvSpec

BOATING FACILITY LOCATOR
www.BoatCalifornia.com

BOATING SAFETY
Boating Safety Courses, Classes and Laws:  888-326-2822
www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com

CLEAN BOATING INFORMATION
Boating Clean and Green Program:  415-904-6905 or www.Coastal.ca.gov  
www.dbw.parks.ca.gov/Environmental/CleanGreen

HAZARDOUS WASTE DISPOSAL
California Department of Toxic Substances Control
www.dtsc.ca.gov/HazardousWaste/

MARINE WILDLIFE RESCUE
The Marine Mammal Center:  www.marinemammalcenter.org/
Anchor Bay and Fort Bragg:  415-289-SEAL
Monterey Bay Operations:  831-633-6298
San Luis Obispo and Mendocino Counties:  805-771-8300
Santa Barbara:  805-687-3255
Fort MacArthur Marine Mammal Care Center:  www.marinemammalcare.org/
Los Angeles County:  1-800-39-WHALE
Orange County:  949-494-3050
San Diego County  (SeaWorld): 800-541-SEAL
Statewide Whale Rescue Team (distressed whales and dolphins)
http://www.cawhalerescue.org/
877-SOS-WHALE
Channel Islands Marine and Wildlife Institute:  www.cimwi.org/
Ventura County:  805-567-1505
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OIL AND CHEMICAL SPILLS
National Response Center:  800-424-8802
www.epa.gov/emergency-response/national-response-center
California Office of Emergency Service State Warning Center:  800-424-8802  
www.caloes.ca.gov/for-governments-tribal/plan-prepare/spill-release-reporting

REPORTING DEAD MARINE ANIMALS
Del Norte and Mendocino Counties: 707-826-4872
Humboldt State University Vertebrate Museum (Whales, dolphins, sea lions, and sea turtles)

Los Angeles and Orange Counties:  213-763-3466  
Los Angeles County Museum of Natural History (Whales and dolphins)

Monterey County:  831-771-4400  
Moss Landing Marine Laboratories (Whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, and sea turtles)

National Marine Fisheries Service (California):  562-980-4000 (Seals, sea lions and sea turtles)

San Diego County: (831) 420-3900
Southwest Fisheries Science Center (Whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, and sea turtles)

San Luis Obispo through Santa Barbara Counties:  805-682-4711
Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History (Whales, dolphins, and sea turtles)

Sonoma County through San Mateo County:  415-379-8000
California Academy of Sciences (Whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, and sea turtles)

Ventura County:  805-567-1505
Channel Islands Marine and Wildlife Institute (Whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, and sea turtles)

SEWAGE PUMPOUT
California Boating Facility Pumpout Locations:
www.dbw.ca.gov/Environmental/datp/PumpoutLocations

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
California Natural Resources Agency 
California State Parks 
DIVISION OF BOATING AND WATERWAYS 
www.dbw.parks.ca.gov | (888) 326-2822 | pubinfo@dbw.parks.ca.gov

Use the hashtags #loveCAboatCA and #WearItCA to interact with DBW on social media.

Twitter
Boat_California

Instagram
Boat_California

Facebook
BoatCA

YouTube
Boat_California

http://www.dbw.ca.gov/Environmental/datp/PumpoutLocations
http://pubinfo@dbw.parks.ca.gov
http://www.dbw.parks.ca.gov
http://www.caloes.ca.gov/for-governments-tribal/plan-prepare/spill-release-reporting
http://www.epa.gov/emergency-response/national-response-center
https://twitter.com/boat_california?lang=en
https://www.instagram.com/boat_california
https://www.facebook.com/BoatCA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpLG_wuE9dQ


Check Your Boat, Trailer and Vehicle. Look for Mussels Here:

Vehicle

Trailer

Rollers

Anchor Dock Lines

Hull Axle Motor

Live Wells Bilge

Mussels will ruin your boat,  
fisheries and California waters. 
Invasive aquatic mussels are primarily transported by recreational boats. When 
leaving the water, boaters should follow these steps to prevent the spread 
of quagga and zebra mussels:

• Inspect all exposed surfaces—small mussels  
feel like sandpaper to the touch.

• Wash the hull of each watercraft thoroughly,  
preferably with high-pressure hot water.

• Remove all plants and animal material.

• Drain all water and dry all areas.

• Drain and dry the lower outboard unit.

• Clean and dry all live-wells.

• Empty and dry any buckets.

• Properly dispose of all bait.

• Wait five days and keep watercraft  
dry between launches into different  
fresh waters.

Don’t Move 
a Mussel!

Report Mussel Finds to 866-440-9530
Visit www.dbw.ca.gov/quagga

http://www.dbw.ca.gov/quagga


Don’t leave shore without it.

California
BOATER
CARD

The California mandatory boating safety education
law is now in effect. If you operate a motorized 

vessel on California waterways, you will be required to
pass an approved boating safety exam and carry a lifetime 

California Boater Card when on state waterways.

Boaters 20 years of age and younger are the first group that must 
carry a Boater Card in 2018. Are you over the age of 20? 

See when you will be required to complete your exam on page one
of this book or by visiting CaliforniaBoaterCard.com
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