When and How to Report a Boating Accident
California State Parks, Division of Boating and Waterways

Boating accident statistics are compiled under a state law requiring a boater who is involved in an
accident to file a written accident report with the California State Parks, Division of Boating and
Waterways (DBW) in the case of:

¢ Death, disappearance or injury requiring medical attention beyond first aid

e Damage to a vessel or other property exceeding $500; or

o Complete loss of a vessel, regardless of value

Reports must be submitted to DBW within 48 hours of an accident that involves:

e Death occurring within 24 hours of the accident
o Disappearance of a person
¢ Injury beyond first aid

Reports must be submitted within 10 days of an accident that involves:

e A person who dies more than 24 hours after an accident occurs

e Only property damage to vessels or property exceeding $500, or there is a complete loss of a
vessel

How to Report an Accident

The operator, owner, or, if neither are able, other parties involved in an accident that fits one of the
above criteria should complete a boating accident report Boating Accident Report Form.

Reports should be signed and mailed, or faxed to:

California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways
Attn: Boating Accident Reports

One Capitol Mall, Suite 500

Sacramento, CA 95814

Fax: (916) 327-1770

When submitting reports by mail, keep a copy for your records.

Purpose

DBW collects and analyzes boating accident reports to develop safety strategies and make
recommendations in the interest of reducing boating accidents, injuries and fatalities on California’s

waterways.
Information contained in the reports is confidential and may not be used in prosecuting any violations

that may have occurred, nor in civil litigation of any kind.

For more information, please contact
Joanna Andrade at (916) 327-0682, Joanna.Andrade@parks.ca.gv,
or visit www.dbw.parks.ca.gov.
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http://www.boatcalifornia.com/
http://www.dbw.ca.gov/PDF/AccidentForms/BAR.pdf
http://www.dbw.ca.gov/PDF/AccidentForms/BAR.pdf
http://www.dbw.parks.ca.gov/
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