dana point

Alert: Effective January 1, 2024 - Are you 60 years of age or younger? All motorized vessel operators 60 and younger are required to complete a boating safety course and obtain a California Boater Card before heading out on the water. For more information about the California Boater Card program, list of approved courses and exemptions, please visit CaliforniaBoaterCard.com.

Courses in this list are approved by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways, as well as the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). These courses meet the requirements for court ordered courses. Boaters convicted of an alcohol or drug offense or moving violations while boating must pass one of these approved courses and show their earned certificate to the court as proof of meeting their obligation

These courses also meet the California Boater Card boating safety education requirement. For more information about the California Boater Card phase-in, please visit www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com.

Many marine insurance providers will honor a NASBLA approved course to reduce their clients' premiums.

The approved list of courses may change dependent on an organization maintaining their NASBLA approval.

 

Organization Name of Course  Certified Through More information


A+ Approved Boating Course
1-844-535-1135


100% Online - Fast & Easy Course

2026

 Course Cost: $34.95

 Course Type: Online


AceBoater.Com
1-800-607-2329


Safe Boating Course
6/30/2024

 Course Cost: $34.95

 Course Type: Online


America's Boating Club/U.S. Power Squadrons
1-888-367-8777


America’s Boating Course
2024

 Course Cost: Varies

 Course Type: Classroom/Online


Boat Ed
1-800-830-2268


Boat California Course (English)

Boat California Course (Spanish)


2024

 Course Cost: $39.95

 Course Type: Online (English & Spanish)


Boater Exam America
1-866-688-2628


The California Boater Education Course
6/30/2024  

 Course Cost: $34.95

 Course Type: Online


BOATsmart!

1-705-745-2878


BOATsmart! Boating Course

2024
 

 Course Cost: $34.95

 Course Type: Online


BoatTests101.com
1-888-885-8830


California Boater Education at BoatTests101.com
6/30/2024  

 Course Cost: $29.99

 Course Type: Online (English & Spanish)


BoatU.S. Foundation
1-800-245-2628


BoatU.S. Online Boating Safety Course

2025
 

 Course Cost: Free

 Course Type: Online

 


California Division of Boating and Waterways
1-916-902-8486
BoatingSafetyCourse@parks.ca.gov



California Course for Safe Boating - OnLine Home Study Course


2024

 Course Cost: Free

 Course Type: Home study/Ebook

 


Drive A Boat USA
1-866-938-6373



Drive A Boat USA Boating Safety Course


2025

 Course Cost: $34.95

 Course Type: Online

 


ilearntoboat
1-800-830-2268



Boat California Interactive Course


2024

 Course Cost: $54.95

 Course Type: Online/Interactive

 


Safe2Boat
1-800-810-3446



Fastest Boat Course Allowed


2025

 Course Cost: $24.95

 Course Type: Online

 


Super Quick Course
1-877-659-1242



Quick Boater Course


September 30, 2025

 Course Cost: $27.95

 Course Type: Online

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
1 (877) 875-6296

Boat America: A Course on Responsible Boating

6/30/2024  

 Course Cost: Varies

 Course Type: Classroom


U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
1-800-607-2329

Boating Skills and Seamanship 6/30/2024  

 Course Cost: Varies

 Course Type: Classroom

US Sailing/US Powerboating
1-401-683-0800
Customer Service: Powerboat@ussailing.org

 
Basic Powerboat Cruising 6/30/2024

 

 Course Cost: Varies

 Course Type: Classroom/On-the-water

US Sailing/US Powerboating
1-401-683-0800
Customer Service: Powerboat@ussailing.org

 
Safe Powerboat Handling 6/30/2024

 Course Cost: Varies

 Course Type: Classroom/On-the-water

                                                                 

Safety and web banner